Skip to content

January Calendar Picture

January 1, 2013

Happy New Year, everyone!

Oca

I’m doing something a little different this year. After two years of making calendars with pictures of flowering houseplants for my family, I’ve decided to use vegetables this year.

This picture has puzzled everyone who received a calendar so far – nobody knows oca! What a shame – such a pretty vegetable!

Then again, the harvest was pretty pathetic, just this tiny bowl… ah well, better than last year. I don’t yet know what they taste like, either – haven’t had a chance to cook any. But they’re pretty (and undemanding) enough that I’ll grow them again next year no matter what they taste like (unless they taste like celery, which I doubt!)

I feel like I’ve been a bit lazy with blogging lately – changing that is one of my New Year’s resolutions!

Also, I would like to announce, I’ve added the last numbers to my harvest list, and I’ve managed to break even! All the expenses for my balcony garden are covered! I’ve only “saved” one cent so far, but next year, it should be a lot more than that!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2013 23:08

    Yay! They are pretty, I didn’t know they were so colorful. Being a better blog is one of my goals as well…sometimes I fear that people are going to forget me

    • January 2, 2013 17:19

      I had even more colours than that (red, pink and white), but… I might have overwatered a couple of pots. Oops.

Leave a Reply

