Skip to content

Autumn’s Books and Winter’s Books

January 8, 2013

I’ve already reviewed most of the books I read last autumn. Here is the rest:

17. Morton Rhue, Die Welle (The Wave) (reread, German): I was stuck at my mother’s place, bored and looking for a quick read, so I picked this one up again. It’s about the third time I’ve read it, and it’s still a story that creeps me out a bit. Scary to think how quickly and easily people can be pulled into something…

18. Daniel Glattauer, Alle sieben Wellen (Every Seventh Wave) (new, German): Still stuck at my mother’s place, still bored, and it’s the sequel to a book I had read before… didn’t really like it. The novelty of reading a story told entirely through e-mails had worn off, and I don’t care for romance. Spent the entire book thinking, “oh, get on with it already!”

19. Carrie Ryan, Der Wald der Tausend Augen (The Forest of Hands and Teeth) (new, German): I was in a bookshop, with a few hours to kill and no money to spend, so I grabbed something that looked like a quick read and a comfortable seat… but I’m afraid I don’t care for zombies any more than I care for romance…

books

Since I always count my books by seasons rather than months or years, I started a new list at the winter solstice:

1. J.K. Rowling, , Harry Potter en de Steen der Wijzen (Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone) (Dutch): I’m not quite sure if I should count this as a re-read, because I’ve read it about a dozen times in English, or as new, because I never read it in Dutch before… I’ve reviewed the book before, so no need to say any more, except that now I know why my Dutch friends all complained about the translations… the names are horrible indeed!

2. Erich Kästner, Das fliegende Klassenzimmer (The Flying Classroom) (reread, German): I “have to” reread this one every few years around Christmas. I always enjoy old children’s books (I’d just rather read about fist fights than cell phones!), and this one is Christmas-y and funny – Kästner always makes me laugh (although I couldn’t stand him as a child.)

3. William Goldman, The Princess Bride (new, German): Seen it quoted so often that I decided I had to know what it’s all about. I wasn’t that impressed. The framing device was fun for a few pages, but then it just drags on and on…

4. Shaun Ellis, Der mit den Wölfen lebt (The Man Who Lives With Wolves) (new, German): Another book I read right in the bookshop (and finished five minutes before closing). I’ve been fascinated by wolves since primary school (a fact that is reflected in my bookshelves), but this is probably the most fascinating book I’ve read on the subject. If the author has really done all the things he claims he has done – like living with a wild wolf pack for about two years, with next to no equipment… wow.

5. Patrick Rothfuss, The Name of the Wind (reread, English) and
6. Patrick Rothfuss, The Wise Man’s Fear (reread, English): I’m planning to do a separate post for these (they certainly deserve it).

7. Arnaldur Indriðason, Nordermoor (Jar City) (new, German): I’m working my way through a bag of crime fiction that I need to return to my father. I don’t care enough about the genre to have much to say about the books. But at least I remember the plot of this one – that’s something, I suppose, considering I usually immediately forget it!

8. Håkan Nesser, Eine ganz andere Geschichte [A Totally Different Story] (new, German): another one of my father’s books. Again, I can’t really think of anything to say, except that I couldn’t quite follow the twist at the end – seemed to come out of nowhere for me.

Leave a Reply

