Skip to content

A Long-Awaited Flower

January 11, 2013

Ta-DAAA!
Phalaenopsis Cv

Yeah, it only took five years to re-bloom… I got it as a birthday present from my father in 2008. Didn’t do anything but grow leaves and roots in all that time (which was seriously frustrating), until I gave it to my grandma – who has a knack for growing Phalaenopsis. I got it back, and it was still seemingly doing nothing … until November. And now, at last, a flower!

There are two other miniature Phals sharing that wicker basket. Maybe they’ll take a leaf out of this one’s book yet!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2013 14:01

    Very pretty flower.

  2. January 11, 2013 14:43

    Congrats! Your patience (and your Oma’s knack) paid off! And what a sweet reward it is. I received a similar-looking orchid last year for my birthday. It had 13 flowers on it, that increased to 18 before they all fell off. It’s done nothing but grow more leaves and roots also. Finally, a stem poked up and grew a foot or so. And now there are several tender buds on it. I can’t wait to see them open. It’s been so long, I forgot what color they are! Hope you get more!

  3. January 14, 2013 03:55

    Beautiful :). Better late than never.

Trackbacks

  1. Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – January 2013 « Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

