Skip to content

Self Control? Nope!

February 1, 2013

What happened to the “only one new amaryllis every winter” rule?

Hippeastrum Cv.

“I was too lazy to get my amaryllises up from the cold cellar and now I only have the first beginnings of buds poking up from two bulbs” is what happened to it. And “my mother’s bulbs were all blooming, and I was jealous.”

So, three new ones. We’ll see if they are actually the colours they’re supposed to be (I’ve had lots and lots of bad experiences in the past, but that doesn’t stop me from trying again… and again… and again…)

And I nearly broke the taller stalk of the plant on the left – I had it in my bike basket, and a backpack on my back… I knew it was a bad combination, but was hoping for the best. I hope it will manage to bloom nonetheless.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2013 06:00

    I hope it does too because the picture on the tag looks amazing! I can’t wait to see these!

  2. February 1, 2013 06:01

    And why is it that amaryllis seem to be the most mislabeled thing ever? It seems so rare that I actually get the one I was trying for

    • February 1, 2013 11:50

      I don’t know if I’ve ever got the one I wanted! At first I was blaming other customers for pulling out labels and putting them back in the wrong pots, but that doesn’t account for the whole mess. There’s at least one case where I know the mislabelling must have happened before they even got to the shop.

Trackbacks

  1. Cheated Again! « Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

