Skip to content

Cheated Again!

February 8, 2013

This does not seem to be what was promised. </norn voice>

(If you guess what book I’m quoting, you’ll get… um. A cookie would be traditional, I suppose, but I still haven’t found a way to send them over the internet.)

Hippeastrum

The good news, I suppose, is that the almost-broken stalk survived, even if it’s quite crooked.

The bad news is that this is definitely not ‘Exotic Peacock’, but just another generic red-and-white amaryllis that I just don’t care for at all. Well, I’ll just have to try to get it to rebloom in time for someone’s birthday next year and give it away.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2013 02:48

    Damn amaryllis! Maybe we should start calling the damnaryllis.They never do what you want! Wait, that’s a lie. My mini that I bought this year looks almost exactly like the picture (making it only the second one I’ve ever bought that was exactly as it looked in the picture). This one looks like it really wanted to be double but it just didn’t have the heart for it…

    • February 9, 2013 21:12

      Yeah, the shape is kind of weird. Not sure what’s going on there… but colour-wise it looks almost exactly like one I already have (had? I’m not sure if I’ve given it away yet).
      *glares at the other two* You’d better look more interesting!

      • February 10, 2013 18:03

        Not to gloat but I actually ended up with a successful year…granted I only bought one and got another as a freebie but they were both what they were supposed to be!

        • February 10, 2013 18:07

          Well, at least my new mini was tagged correctly. It’s similar in colour to this one, but that’s OK, because it’s a mini, and therefore cute.

          • February 10, 2013 18:07

            Minis can do no wrong.

            • February 10, 2013 18:08

              Well, they can be plain red, which… I don’t really need more of.

              • February 10, 2013 18:18

                I know…but they had some simply adorable mini reds at work and even those set my heart aflutter!

Leave a Reply

