Skip to content

January’s Books

February 8, 2013

The plants aren’t doing anything interesting, so, another post about books.

The first part of this winter’s books is reviewed here – on with number 9, then!

9. Rosslund/Hellström, Blinder Glanz [The Girl Under the Street] (new, German): borrowed crime fiction, and … meh. I read to be entertained, not to think about depressing social issues (most of the time).

10. Leif GW Persson, Sühne (He Who Kills the Dragon) (new, German): more borrowed crime fiction, and again, meh. Not a single character I cared for.

11. Karen Miller, The Reluctant Mage (new, English): There is one thing I like about the Thalia bookstores: they have comfortable seats for their customers, and nobody bothers me if I sit there and read all afternoon, and then walk out without buying anything. There also is one thing I don’t like: They hardly ever have the first book of any series or trilogy. So, when I wanted a quick read, I found myself forced to pick up the second volume. Luckily, it was easy enough to follow the plot.
It wasn’t an overwhelmingly good book, though. I’ve certainly read worse, and I liked the characters, but I like my books just lightly flavoured with magic… this book had too much of it for my tastes. That is a personal preference, of course. The world didn’t feel very realistic, either (I guess I’m just spoiled in that department), but ah well. At least it had nice characters.

12. Carrie Ryan, Das Meer der tausend Seelen (The Dead-Tossed Waves) (new, German): don’t ask me why I even read this, when I didn’t care for the first book in the trilogy. Must-finish-series syndrome is a terrible thing. To be honest, I pretty much just skimmed it.

books

Lots of “replacement books” of approximately the same size in this small pile, since I don’t actually own most of the books I’ve read in January

13. Umberto Eco, Die Insel des vorigen Tages (The Island of the Day Before) (new, German): I bought this one after I’d read and enjoyed The Name of the Rose, but… the best thing I can say about it was that it was cheap. I found that book so boring and irritatingly plot-less that it took me months to read it. Actually, I only managed to finish it because I started just skimming it, skipping all the random philosophizing that made me want to claw my eyes out. I can see now why I gave up on Eco when I was still borrowing books from my parents’s shelves.

14. Neil Gaiman, The Sandman: Preludes & Nocturnes (new, German): After being told by one of my (mostly-)online friends that I must read The Sandman, I decided to give it a try. It was… OK, I suppose. I’m afraid graphic novels just aren’t my thing. I found it quite hard to follow the story, and – being more verbally than visually oriented – had difficulty keeping the characters straight. And being used to the bright colours of my childhood collection of Donald Duck comics, the colours were quite dreary, too.
But, must-finish-series syndrome… so I’ll probably have to buy and read the rest, too.

 

I have read more books since the end of January (four so far), but I’ll review those another time. I’ve just started another project – reading my height in books – and I want to wait until my chart has more than 8.5 cm on it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

