Skip to content

Oh My… an Award…

March 11, 2013
tags:

Multifarious Meanderings nominated me for the Liebster Blog Award.

First off, thank you again!

liebster-blog-award

I get a little stressed out about awards, though. I have to remind myself that it’s an award, not an exam, and I don’t have to do anything. From what I understand, I’m supposed to nominate 11 other blogs, share 11 random facts about myself, answer 11 questions and ask 11 new questions.

I’ll simply skip the first part, though. I don’t read that many blogs regularly, and the ones I do read regularly I’m pretty sure do not do this whole award thing. So I can skip the new questions, too, but I guess I can do the random facts and answer the questions…

snowman

Random picture, because a blog post without pictures is boring. Funniest snowman I’ve seen all winter.

11 random facts:

1. Eleven is my favourite number. It started out as the sacred number of a religion I made up for a story (because there are eleven high gods), then I started to consider it my lucky number, and over the years I became fonder and fonder of it.

2. I’m terrified of babies, because I just don’t know what to do with them. (I wish I weren’t, though, because my cousin’s baby is such a cutie, and apparently thinks I’m awesome, considering how much he grinned at me yesterday.)

3. I love thunderstorms, and storms in general. At the same time, they worry me, because of the damage they can do to gardens (or other things, but the gardens worry me most of all.)

4. I’ve had long hair all my life.

5. I’m planning to name all my future pets after literary characters.

6. I prefer to write with a fountain pen, and try to use a different ink colour every time I change the cartridge.

7. I never listen to music on the radio (never have, either) – not by choice, anyway. Sometimes I have to listen when someone else turns on the radio.

8. I assign colours to vowel sounds. My real name sounds red and yellow (which is a combination I don’t care for, and consequently I don’t like my real name.)

9. I avoid talking about things I’m looking forwards to, for fear of jinxing them.

10. Outside of work, I wear skirts almost all the time.

11. I’m not afraid of heights, but I am afraid of climbing ladders.

Ficus carica

Random picture #2. A new leaf on my mother’s fig tree. I want a dress in that colour.

11 questions:

What’s your favourite smell?
A difficult decision… maybe sweet violets (Viola odorata). At my parents’ house, the lawn was full of them, and I can’t tell you how awesome it was to open the back door and let that smell wash over me on spring mornings.

Where would you like to go if you had an all-expenses paid trip?
I’m not much of a traveller, so usually I’d find that difficult to answer. But right now, I can say without a moment’s thought: to San Francisco, to attend a meeting of online friends and my favourite author that’s going to happen in a few weeks.

What was your favourite book when you were little?
The first book I can remember reading over and over and over again is Wolfsaga by Käthe Recheis (which I’m planning to reread and review soon). I was probably twelve or thirteen then, though – does that still count as “little”? Before that, the Knickerbocker Gang series by Thomas Brezina.

Sweet or savoury?
Sweet. But only if it involves fruit.

You have a evening just for you. What do you do?
Being eternally single, I have most evenings just for me. So, what I do every day: cook dinner, goof around with my online friends, and if I want it to be a good evening, spend an hour or two in the bathtub with a book and whatever sweet snack I can find.

Beach or lake?
Lake. Simply because it’s closer. Although, if I had a way to teleport there, I wouldn’t turn down our childhood holiday destination in Sardinia…

You can only take one thing with you on a desert island… What do you choose?
A knife. Because many of the books I read as a child drilled the importance of knives into me.

What do you look for in a blog?
Hmm… never consciously thought about that. A sense of humour is important – I’m much more likely to keep reading a blog if it makes me laugh. And a good balance between pictures and text – pictures alone are kind of boring, and I find long blocks of text hard to read, too. Also, a decent grasp of spelling and grammar – few things scare me away faster than sloppy writing.

One thing you can’t stand.
Whiny, negative people. Yes, I was be one myself as a kid, but when I started my current job, I decided that the best way to deal with whiny customers would be stubborn cheerfulness – I won’t let them drag me down! However, knowing that I was able to choose how I face life made me even more impatient with people who did not make that choice and continue to see only the negative side of everything.

One thing that makes you happy.
Just one thing?! Since I chose to face life with a positive attitude, there are so many things that make me happy!
Right now, after a long and cloudy winter: sunshine. I feel like I can physically soak it up, breathe it in… feels so good!

You have to give up one thing. What would your biggest sacrifice be?
Reading.
I don’t even want to think about it.

Random picture #3: I was bored and knitted a few flower pot covers…

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 12, 2013 05:02

    wonderful post… hearty congratulations and all the best!

Leave a Reply

