Skip to content

Breaking News from Osten Ard!

April 1, 2013

I’m a bit worried about posting this today, because it might seem like an April Fool’s joke. But I’m too excited not to post it:

There will be a new book about Osten Ard!

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you already know that Tad Williams is my favourite author, and Memory, Sorrow and Thorn is my favourite book series. So this is the best news I’ve had since we finally got a publication date for Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix in my Harry-Potter-obsessed teenage days.

The idea of a collection of short story set in the world of Memory Sorrow and Thorn, with the title A Chronicle in Stone, has been around longer than I’ve been on the Tad Williams message board. A couple of weeks ago, I read that he’s considering writing another novel about Osten Ard… and this morning, I read that he is definitely planning to write about Osten Ard again!

And I might have read it on a suspicious date, but at the time the news was posted, it was still yesterday, not April Fool’s Day, and the people who posted it take MST pretty seriously, and know others do too, so they wouldn’t use it for mean jokes. Also, one of them is going to spend a couple of days at my place this summer, so it would be a bad idea to play such a joke on me!

So I’m currently torn between squealing grinning lunatically, bouncing on my couch and jumping around my kitchen and being madly jealous because I wasn’ t there in person to hear that awesome news. You know how people sometimes discuss which author they would want to have dinner with – hypothetically, because they usually pick dead authors? Yeah… some of my (mostly) online friends have done just that – having dinner with Tad. At Tad’s place, even.

Well, I won’t give up hope that one day I will be able to have dinner with him, too.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2013 04:14

    Yay new books! I haven’t been tragically excited about a new book since the last Harry Potter book

    • April 2, 2013 06:57

      I wasn’t even that excited about the last one – not as much as Order of the Phoenix or Half-Blood Prince. Maybe it was because I was out of school when Deathly Hallows came out – so no excited chatter with classmates.

      Now, excuse me, I must bounce and squeal again.

      • April 3, 2013 02:34

        Is it bad that I had the mental image of you bouncing around with the flower image covering your face like in blog pictures?

      • April 3, 2013 07:04

        The question is, which flower are you imagining?

Trackbacks

  1. Going Back to Osten Ard, Going Back to Osten Ard, Going Back to Osten Ard! (Yes, This Needed to Be Said Three Times) | Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

