Skip to content

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – April 2013

April 15, 2013

Yay! I remembered! I’m so proud of myself.

OK, anyway:

Hippeastrum

Two amaryllises, of which one is a plain, boring red, and the other isn’t behaving very well.

DendrobiumH

My dark purple Dendrobium started to bloom, and what did clumsy Ivy do? Snap the flower stem while moving plants around to water them! Gah! Well, I’ll see how long it lasts in a vase. (The picture doesn’t do the colour justice, by the way – in truth, it’s almost black.)

The other Dendrobium and the mini Phalaenopsis are still hanging in there – looking entirely unchanged from last month.

Viola cornuta

Viola cornuta

Out on the balcony and the outside windowsills, the violas are looking awesome – there are a lot of them, too, and I was too lazy to take pictures of all of them.

Going back inside, I happened to glance at my pickle jar terrarium, and gasped:

Saintpaulia

My miniature African violet is blooming! For the first time in I-don’t-know-how-many years! It’s still going to get killed when I get around to re-planting the terrarium. (I just threw out my two Easter cacti because I was fed up with their non-blooming-ness. I’ve been skirting dangerously close to the edge of plant-burnout for the last couple of months, and it’s making me a little more ruthless about throwing away plants that annoy me.)

Schlumbergera

The various Schlumbergeras (Thanksgiving and Christmas cacti) have been blooming on and off for the last couple of months. Much more worth keeping than the Easter cacti (which I will maybe replace if-and-when I have a room that’s better suited to getting them to rebloom).

Abutilon

The Abutilon is blooming quite nicely as well – or rather, it was, because I just chopped it up for cuttings. They sold well last year, so I want to grow more of them!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2013 04:46

    It’s hard to believe from that picture that your Dendrobium is almost black! But you certainly found the perfect background for it.

    • April 17, 2013 07:20

      Thanks! It was mostly a case of “I don’t want to move it from where it is standing”, but it worked quite well.

Leave a Reply

