Skip to content

I’ve Missed This

April 22, 2013

dirty fingers

Don’t get me wrong – I love my job at the Teeny Tiny Village Nursery and I love my balcony garden… but it’s just not the real deal. Potting mix is just not the same as real soil.

I’ve finally started working on my community garden plot, and it feels so good to be digging in the ground again! It’s been five years since I had a proper garden… five years since my parents got divorced and sold the house and “my” garden.

garden

It still hurts to look at those pictures… but I’m a little closer to having this again. Not quite mine – just for a year, and shared with my mother and my best friend, but good enough for now. And it’s only a few minutes by bike from the Nettle Nest! I’ll probably look even weirder than usual for the next couple of days, with spading fork and hoe tied to my bike – but I like looking weird almost as much as I love getting my fingers dirty!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 23, 2013 02:15

    eeeeee! Nothing like actual soil under the fingernails to make you feel like a real gardener!

Leave a Reply

