Skip to content

Sorry for Being So Quiet

May 3, 2013

I have new plants to show off, books to review, and other stuff I want to write about… I feel kind of guilty for not writing about that new law the EU is trying to pass, which would pretty much make selling or trading heirloom seeds illegal…

But it’s May, which means working overtime every day, and just no time or energy left for blogging. Or cleaning. Or gardening. Or even reading. All I can do is watch silly movies that I can’t even remember the next day.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2013 21:50

    which would pretty much make selling or trading heirloom seeds illegal…

    Wait — it would do what?

    • May 3, 2013 21:59

      http://saatgutpolitik.arche-noah.at/en/eu-seed-law

      Just thinking about it makes me sick…

      • May 3, 2013 22:06

        I looked at the link, and a few pages off of that one, but I couldn’t find it, so: what is the stated purpose of the law? Why would the EU be thinking this was a good idea in the first place, what problem is it supposed to be solving, etc.?

        • May 3, 2013 22:55

          Besides giving more power to Monsanto & co? Alledgedly, it’s supposed to protect customers by ensuring that all varieties fulfill certain standards of quality/uniformity.

          I think I really need to write a post about this. But right now, I need sleep more.

  2. May 4, 2013 01:16

    I’m a member of Diggers in Australia and the raison d’etre of this organization is to ensure that heirloom seeds DON’T die out! Off to hunt up this story coz I’m incensed at such stupidity.

  3. May 4, 2013 05:41

    huh, usually all we hear about is the eu being more progressive in their ag habits. stupid monsanto

  4. May 15, 2013 17:33

    In France it’s already done 😦

Leave a Reply

