Skip to content

Harvest Monday – May 20, 2013

May 20, 2013

It’s been a while since I’ve participated – not because I wasn’t harvesting anything, but because it’s been a tough time with lots of work and little sleep. It’s not over yet, but today was a holiday, so I had two glorious days of rest, and can blog again.

Most of what I’m harvesting at this time of year is greens and herbs – lettuce, arugula, chives, parsley, lovage, the first bit of basil (actually, it was a lot, not a bit… the one plant that had remained in the kitchen had gotten a bit out of hand.)

And chard. Last year, I hardly ate any of the chard that I grew (just wasn’t in the mood for it), so it was quite a surprise how good it was. So much better than the frozen spinach that I would otherwise have with fried eggs and potatoes.

Beta vulgaris

And the first radishes. I don’t think I’ve ever bought a single radish this year. The grocery store stuff is just gross and watery, but my own were well worth the wait.

Raphanus sativus

There aren’t many of them, but they are big and delicious.

Raphanus sativus

I’ve had them for breakfast a couple of times last week, sliced and salted on buttered bread.

Raphanus sativus

It’s hard to keep up with the garden work right now, on top of the work-work (which is also, in a way, garden work), but the harvests are worth it.

Also – this is something I’ve been slacking about lately, and I feel a little ashamed about it – thanks to Daphne for hosting Harvest Monday! Hop on over to her blog to see what other gardeners around the world have been harvesting.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2013 00:24

    That purple radish is beautiful!

  2. May 21, 2013 01:14

    Your chard sounds like my lettuce last year. I just wasn’t in the mood for lettuce salads so they didn’t get eaten. But now I’m really enjoying them. Beautiful radishes.

    • May 21, 2013 07:06

      Unlike the lettuce, I could at least have frozen the chard. But I was too lazy even for that.

  3. May 21, 2013 07:40

    Glad you’re back!

    • May 21, 2013 20:08

      I’ll try to post more often – can’t promise anything, though! šŸ™‚

  4. May 22, 2013 17:04

    Spanish black? Nice. I dunno about eating it for breakfast personally, but then again I don’t eat many of them in general. That’s my hubby’s department. LOL.

    • May 22, 2013 19:08

      I don’t actually know the variety name – it was a mix of differently-coloured radishes.

  5. May 27, 2013 05:20

    I’m also admiring that purple radish!

Leave a Reply

