Skip to content

Harvest Monday – May 27, 2013

May 27, 2013

More radishes:

Raphanus sativus

That’s the biggest radish I’ve grown on the balcony so far. Actually, it’s probably the biggest of these “small” radishes (what we call Radieschen in German) I’ve ever grown. (There’s another group that’s called Rettich in German, and they are way bigger than this.)

It was also quite spicy – I shared it with my best friend (after harvesting it mostly to show it off to her), and we were both pretty much spitting fire by the time we’d eaten it.

Raphanus sativus

Also, chives, parsley, the last of the babyleaf Asian greens, Arugula and babyleaf lettuce, neither of which I took pictures of because I’m still recovering from May madness at work.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2013 23:12

    That is a big radish. Sometimes I love those hot radishes and sometimes not. They do go better with beer though. Maybe it just cuts through the hot.

    • May 27, 2013 23:21

      This is probably ridiculous, but I’ve never even tasted beer. I don’t usually drink alcohol in general, and I have something of a personal grudge against beer.

  2. kitsapfg permalink
    May 27, 2013 23:14

    I like Daphne’s suggestion of beer to accompany the hot radishes! LOL! That is an impressive root. 😀

    • May 27, 2013 23:31

      Now that I think about it, it explains the German name Bierrettich for the big white radishes…

  3. May 28, 2013 07:45

    I am full of admiration for anyone who manages to grow a plant, let alone something edible. When are you getting back on your super bike to show us your garden plot?

    • May 28, 2013 18:49

      I actually have pictures, but they’re already over a week old again! Too much growing, too little time to post!

      • May 28, 2013 19:02

        Plants grow up faster than children…. But then again, you can eat plants 🙂 I’ve talked about you, your bike, your passion and your blog in my post today – hope some new readers will discover your corner of the blogosphere.

        • June 4, 2013 22:06

          (Late reply, I know…)

          But theoretically, you could eat children, too.
          (What? Jonathan Swift said it first!)

  4. May 29, 2013 03:24

    I was directed here by Multifarious meanderings and I am SO glad I followed her. I would love to try a very spicy radish!

Leave a Reply

