Skip to content

Harvest Monday – June 3, 2013

June 3, 2013

I can’t even remember what I ate last week, but let’s see, what do the list and the camera say?

 100_7904s Raphanus sativus

100_7926s

100_7931s Brassica oleracea

Right – more radishes they say, and babyleaf lettuce, and what was probably the most perfect kohlrabi I’ve grown so far. Not particularly big, but perfectly round and sooo tender.

I used it to make kohlrabi tzaziki when I had my best friend and her boyfriend over for dinner, and even the boyfriend – not a vegetable person at ALL – ate it. (Which led to, “Oh, so that’s something I can make at home, too!” – “Nuh-uh, look, I’m not eating any more!”  Men are such silly creatures! 😉 ) (Though, silly as he may be about vegetables, I’m really really grateful to him for replacing my dripping toilet tank – too bad he won’t want to be paid in vegetables.)

(‘m also grateful to Daphne, not for fixing my toilet, but for hosting Harvest Monday and allowing us to show off our harvests.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2013 22:46

    One of the kinds of leaves in that salad picture looks so much like Synadenium grantii that I’m kind of freaking out.

    • June 3, 2013 22:53

      Hehe… it really does! But it’s just speckled lettuce, so no need to freak out! (Which of course is obvious from the fact that I’m still alive and posting. 😉 )

  2. vastlycurious.com permalink
    June 3, 2013 23:07

    It is so satisfying to have a vegetable garden!! I will live through yours as someone would need to water it around here!

    • June 4, 2013 22:00

      The most satisfying thing in my life! 🙂
      I’ll try to post about it regularly then (a bit more regularly than I’ve been doing so far this year).

  3. June 4, 2013 22:11

    I’ve learned with my husband to put the veggies in and not tell him. I do a lot of veggie pureeing. He loves the taste but won’t eat it if he thinks it is in there.

    • June 7, 2013 22:45

      Being eternally single, I don’t have much first-hand experience with it, but I’ve heard lots of stories like that!

Leave a Reply

