Skip to content

Harvest Monday – July 1, 2013

July 1, 2013

Pretty nice harvests from the balcony garden this week – peas (185 g) and chard (140 g), a couple of strawberries, the first cucumber (130 g, yes, still tiny) and the first two currant tomatoes. Spring is definitely turning to summer (and the peas aren’t too happy with that. Me neither. Spring was too short this year.)

hm100_8034s

hm100_8036s

hm100_8039_2s

hm100_8066s

And from the community garden:

hm100_8043s

I’m too lazy to get the notebook in which I wrote down the weights – I photographed weighed this harvest at my mother’s place, before splitting it between her, my best friend and me (best friend and I were looking after the Clown Brother that evening, and we all made a trip to the community garden together, where we loaded up the wheelchair with bag upon bag of green stuff.) I think it was something like 300 g peas, 500 g chard and kohlrabis weighing about 850 and 700 g.

hm100_8046s

Yes, this lettuce almost completely filled my bike basket. I have no idea how I’m supposed to eat it all by myself, but nobody else was eating it either.

Also, there’s a tiny slug at the left edge of the basket. On my kitchen floor. I wonder where it got to, because I didn’t find it when I cleaned the floor later that day.

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2013 01:50

    Last summer I didn’t have to buy in any lettuce or tomatoes, but my peas and leeks were disappointing. Still experimenting on what does well out on my deck. Congratulations on your harvest!

    • July 2, 2013 07:06

      Gardening is a never-ending experiment, isn’t it?

      • July 2, 2013 09:44

        lol – it sure is, but the rewards repay the effort 100 times over. Just the flavour of sun ripened fruit and vegies is enough. And then there’s knowing there’s nothing harmful on your food. And that sense of achievement! -cough- Okay, I’ll stop now. 😀

        • July 9, 2013 21:33

          It’s definitely always worth it, occasional disappointments notwithstanding.

          • July 10, 2013 05:40

            lol – yes, like when the possums eat all the fruit before it even ripens!

  2. July 2, 2013 07:24

    I’m glad to see that you’re back to the garden with a vengeance! Looks tasty! And now you have a pet slug in your kitchen too; Sammy the slug 🙂

    • July 9, 2013 21:32

      If it had turned up again, Sam would have been an oddly appropriate name, but you’d have to read Otherland to understand why.

  3. July 2, 2013 13:05

    No don’t name the slug. Then you have to keep it and feed it your lettuce. ;> Nice harvests.

    • July 9, 2013 21:34

      If it had survived long enough for me to find it again, it would have deserved a name!

  4. July 2, 2013 14:28

    Beautiful harvst! Nice comparison of cherry tomato to the strawberry!

  5. July 3, 2013 04:49

    Everything looks so tasty. I’m Jealous, my garden is having crazy disease issues this year, i’ve lost nearly everything

    • July 9, 2013 21:39

      Some years just suck, at least in regards to gardening. Luckily, there’s always another year.

Leave a Reply

