Skip to content

Harvest Monday Tuesday – July 8 9, 2013

July 9, 2013

Late this week. Yesterday was a horrible day – feeling sick, hot humid weather, train delays and errands to run after work…

hs100_8067_2s

I’m really happy with the cucumbers this year. I haven’t had any luck with them before, but it seems that planting them in a pot of their own, and bringing them inside on cold nights. Now I just need to keep the spider mites in check.

They haven’t been very large yet so far, but half a cucumber was plenty to eat with my lunch sandwich every day – I haven’t had to buy vegetables for lunch for quite some time now!

hm00_8134s

I don’t always feel like eating chard, but unlike last year, I do it anyway – I won’t let it go to waste again. Also, I’m feeling a little uncomfortable with how much money I’ve been spending on train tickets this year (first trip out of the country is coming up, and let me tell you, awesome things are planned. I hope they work out.) so I’m trying to save money on food at least. Which means regular dinners of potatoes, fried eggs and chard.

hm100_8136s

Peas from the community garden. About 800 g, I think. I don’t keep a proper list of harvests from the community garden, as I share the plot with my best friend and my mother, and I don’t want to force them to keep track of their harvests. So far we’ve had about 15 heads of lettuce, 5 kohlrabis, about 1 kg of peas and a couple of bunches of radishes, and an occasional strawberry.

In any case, I shared this harvest with both my gardening partners, who were both sick that weekend, so I went to pick the peas by myself and then delivered them to their homes.

There was also lettuce from the community garden, which wasn’t very photogenic any more, and arugula, which I can’t even remember, and chives. So much. I’m drowning in chives and parsley.

All right. Time to stop babbling, I still have a million things to do tonight.

Don’t forget to hop over to Daphne’s Dandelions to see what the rest of the blogging world is harvesting!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 11, 2013 03:50

    I am so impressed that you do this! I miss it ! Mangiare)

Leave a Reply

