Skip to content

Harvest Monday – August 12, 2013

August 12, 2013

I am a little shocked at how fast the summer is flying by.  So much to do this year that the weeks are just rushing past.

A couple of harvests have gone unphotographed, and a couple of Harvest Mondays been missed, because I was so rarely at home, but at least I have recorded them all. And now I’ll try to get back to showing them off.

hm100_8572_2s

Delicious strawberries welcoming me home.

hm100_8571_2s

Most perfect cucumber so far.

hm100_8573_2s

Zucchini fcrom the community garden. It got a bit bigger than I’d have liked, because apparently, while I was away, neither my mother nor my best friend harvested anything.

hm100_8591s

hm100_8590s

Lots of stuff for a huge bowl of pasta salad – tomatoes, peppers, lettuce, cucumber, arugula, basil and garlic chives.

I’m already at 105 € this year. I still haven’t quite sorted out my expenses, but I think this year the balcony garden will become a thing to save money with instead of to spend it on.

I haven’t tracked the harvests from the community garden, because there are three people harvesting from our shared plot, and three people buying stuff for it, but I have a good feeling about that as well.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2013 00:53

    Wow, it looks like your cuke and your zuke are going to treat you well, this week. I hope you make something delicious from them 🙂

  2. August 13, 2013 03:23

    Beautiful harvest! Love the straight cucumber and zucchini pictures, and very lovely berries!

  3. August 13, 2013 15:56

    I have the same trouble. When I leave and tell people to pick, no one does. I’m glad you might come out positive on the tally this year. I would think a balcony garden is much more expensive than an in ground garden.

    • August 17, 2013 23:38

      It certainly is expensive, but let’s face it, I’m always going to fill any space I have with far too many plants. At least by filling it with vegetables instead of flowers, I do get some money back.

Leave a Reply

