Skip to content

(Belated) Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day

August 17, 2013

Oops. Completely forgot about GBBD this month! Well, it’s not as if I have anything particularly interesting blooming anyway.

gbbd100_8579sOn the balcony, I keep missing the few flowers that are actual flowers, not blooming vegetables, because they are way up over my head, like this passion flower and bog sage.

gbbd100_8607s

 

Indoors, one of the begonias is also hitting the ceiling, which means it’s taller than me again – I am certainly not touching the ceiling when I stand on my windowsill. And it also means it’s time to cut that plant back again and take some cuttings and grow more plants to sell.

gbbd100_8606s

The other begonia is behaving itself well, staying nice and small at the kitchen window and growing a couple of leaves in addition to its first flowers. I think when I brought it home in May, it had all of two leaves. Possibly only one… I think one of the two fell victim to being carried around in a shopping bag all day…

gbbd100_8609s

 

A tiny Dendrobium hiding away at the end of the living room windowsill. It’s actually cuter in the picture than it is in person.

gbbd100_8608s

And an Aechmea lurking in the jungle that is my living room window, waiting to scratch my hands or tip over and spill water all over when I try to do anything on that windowsill…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2013 04:27

    Any idea which begonia that is?

    • August 18, 2013 20:46

      The newish one? Possibly ‘Lucerna’, but I really don’t know. The market where I bought it is one of the few places I can get not-so-common plants, but most of the stallholders are terrible about IDs.

Leave a Reply

