Skip to content

An Award (and Trying to Get Back Into Blogging)

October 6, 2013
tags:

I’ve been bad at blogging lately. Not just here, but my two German blogs have been neglected, too. I haven’t been reading many blogs, either. Or books. Or taking good care of my plants. Or preparing for NaNo. I’ve been so lazy lately, it is embarrassing.

But, anyway, I’m back. And preposterousplum of notesfromthebookshelf nominated me for the Liebster Award.

liebster-button-2

* Link back to the blogger who tagged you.
* Answer the questions they asked.
* Nominate 5 blogs and let them know of their nomination.
* Ask them 10 questions.

I feel honoured, but also a little ashamed that this will be a dead end for the award again – I simply can’t think of five other blogs to nominate. I just haven’t been reading many blogs in the last couple of months, and those few that I am following, don’t do awards.

But I can answer the questions, at least. And promise myself to get back to healthier habits, to have more time for blogging and for reading other blogs.

1: What inspired you to create a blog?

I used to follow a lot of indoor gardening blogs (especially Plants are the Strangest People, which I still read regularly), and spent a lot of time babbling about my plants on a message board that had absolutely nothing to do with plants (Unless you count the book War of the Flowers). Until eventually I thought, you know what, why not start a blog myself? I don’t remember what inspired me to write book reviews, too, though.

2: What is the next book you’re looking forward to reading?

A book that I can actually read soon? Robin Hobb’s Blood of Dragons, which is already in my TBR pile (and ohmygod I get to meet Robin Hobb in about four weeks!) A book that I will still have to wait for for I-don’t-know-how-long? What Tad Williams is currently working on.  (And, ohmygod, I get to meet Tad again soon, too!)

3: If you could, what fictional universe would you live in?

Hard to choose! Harry Potter? Cornelia Funke’s Inkworld? Jenny-Mai Nuyen’s Aradon? Do my own stories count?

But when it comes down to it, probably Tad Williams’ Osten Ard.

4: What was your favorite book as a child?

Shockingly, even though I have mentioned him in every answer so far, it was not anything by Tad Williams. In primary school, it was probably Thomas Brezina’s The Knickerbocker Gang series, which I now think is pretty stupid, and in secondary school, Käthe Recheis’ Wolfsaga, which I still think is awesome. Interestingly, they are both Austrian (like me).

5: What are your top 3 favorite authors?

Tad Williams (like you didn’t see that one coming!), Käthe Recheis (I really need to finish my post about her!) and… uh. This is hard! I think it’ll have to be a tie between Robin Hobb and Jenny-Mai Nuyen. And possibly Wolf Haas.

6: What is the last book that gave you a book hangover?

And here we go again: Tad Williams’ Memory, Sorrow and Thorn(Really, preposterousplum, did you choose those questions so that I would have to answer every one with “Tad Williams”? 😉 )

Also, I love the expression “book hangover”. I wish I had learned it years ago.

7: Storytelling comes in many forms, what is your favorite story that didn’t come from a book? (ex. TV, Movie, Video Game, etc)

Um. I don’t really watch much TV or movies, and definitely don’t play video games. Do comics count? In that case, The Life and Times of Scrooge McDuck by Don Rosa. Otherwise… um… probably The Lion King. I didn’t watch the movie often, but I listened to the audiobook obsessively as a child and I can still quote entire conversations.

8: What genre do you read most often?

Fantasy (which might be obvious from my previous answers).

9: Have you ever met an author? If not, who would you like to meet?

And we’re back to Tad Williams. I have met him, twice even: Once, briefly, in Vienna, and then in Stuttgart this summer, where I actually really got to spend time with him, and I can’t think about that too much or I will again dissolve into giggling in keysmashing.

I would really like to meet Käthe Recheis, who does actually live quite close to here, but she is old and doesn’t do readings and signings and stuff any more. But I wrote her a letter and she wrote back, which is pretty awesome, too.

10: If you wrote a book, what genre would it be?

I’m writing something quite often. It just never turns into a finished book… I’m still not sure what genre the Kivailo world stories would be, but apart from that, definitely fantasy.

So, thanks again for the award, preposterousplum. Now I’ll get off the computer for a while and deal with this huge bag of apples waiting to be turned into apple sauce. And then, if I’m still awake, maybe I’ll even write another post.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2013 23:10

    Lovely answers, thank you! Don’t worry about not nominating. This Liebster thing seems to be going around quite a bit lately. One person I nominated was then nominated by 4 others.

    “Book Hangover” is a wonderful term, I only learned it recently, although I’ve experienced it plenty.

    And yes, I figured most of your answers would be Tad Williams related, but that’s one of the main reasons why I love your blog. That last question was in there especially for you. 😉

    Speaking of Tad Williams, I just finished Sea of Silver Light (I’ll be reviewing it shortly) and I have to say that it was pretty amazing.

    • October 8, 2013 23:43

      Then I’ll try to have more Tad-stories soon (just over three weeks until the World Fantasy Convention! With Tad and plenty of Smarcher-friends! And also Robin Hobb and Patrick Rothfuss and Trudi Canavan and I forget who else! Although I’m not sure I’ll be brave enough to talk to anyone.)

Leave a Reply

