Skip to content

Harvest Monday Tuesday – October 14 15, 2013

October 15, 2013

Late again, because I was looking after my brother yesterday, and for once went to bed right after coming home (I’m usually not good at going to bed at a reasonable time).

Again, I don’t have a lot of pictures, but I do have one harvest I’m pretty proud of, as much as the water melon last week:

hm100_8910s

My first muskmelon, after three years of trying! And this variety (Minnesota Midget) is supposed to be tiny, so the size is OK too. And I saved seeds for next year, too. As long as I still can. I just hope the seeds were developed properly, because it got so cold that I had to pick the fruit before it was fully ripe, and let it ripen indoors. So it wasn’t quite as sweet as it probably could have been, but still good. I have another, still green, fruit lying in the kitchen, and I hope this one will ripen too.

hm100_8911s

All the tomatoes were picked too, ripe or not, so I could get rid of the plants. I’ll need to put the green ones somewhere to ripen, but… yeah, oops… I still haven’t done that.

And also a few strawberries. They’re refusing to admit it’s autumn.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2013 02:00

    Nice harvest! I am in awe of you growing a melon. That’s impressive!

  2. October 16, 2013 03:40

    It’s nice to see a bit of my home state making it across the Atlantic (and over some mountains too)! Yay Minnesota Midget!

  3. October 16, 2013 13:18

    Yum. My melons are long gone.

    • October 16, 2013 17:42

      I got quite jealous, seeing you harvest yours while I waited and waited…

Leave a Reply

