Skip to content

Can I Just Write 50,000 Words in Con Reports?

November 4, 2013

Soo… I lost my convention virginity. Figuratively, I would like to point out, although one of my online friends apparently did the literal thing many years ago (I will never look at wookies the same way…)

Anyway. Yeah. Back from the World Fantasy Convention, my first con ever, back from the seaside in very windy Brighton, home with a sore throat and so many happy memories and fun stories that my brain doesn’t work any more…

This being my first, obviously I have no comparison, but from what I hear from my friends, WFC isn’t your typical con, since it’s geared more towards professionals – authors and publishers – than towards fans. But for my friends from the Tad Williams Message Board  (a.k.a. Smarch), attending WFC has become something of a tradition, and since, for once, it was in Europe, and not half a world away, how could I not go? I must admit that I was quite nervous, because I don’t do well with new situations or large numbers of people, but it turns out that when I’m with my Smarch-friends, any place can feel like home, and crowds aren’t nearly as overwhelming as they would otherwise be.

My brain is, as I said, pretty fried, so I won’t even try to write a longer report today. There will probably be a dozen posts spread out over a couple of weeks…

I still haven’t even started NaNoWriMo yet, either. And I think I will just count all my WFC reports towards my wordcount, because I don’t know if I will be able to make it otherwise. And I’ve never been a NaNo rebel before – might as well do it once.

And now, to bed. Thankfully, I have tomorrow off as well, because I still haven’t even unpacked.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2013 14:14

    Well next year the World Science Fiction Convention is in London, so in Europe. This one is definitely more of a fan convention.

    • November 5, 2013 15:14

      I know, and I considered going (at least one of my friends is going to be there), but I think WFC is about as many people as I can handle.

      • November 6, 2013 00:19

        I’m pretty sure my husband and I will be there. London isn’t all that far from Boston.

        • November 10, 2013 00:30

          That makes it more tempting (I’ve never met a garden blogging acquaintance in real life), but I beginning to consider going to WFC again, in Washington, D.C., and there’s no way I will be able to afford that and WorldCon, even when it’s so close to home.

  2. November 8, 2013 00:33

    Eeeeee! Cons are fun. Actually, I’ve only ever been to C2E2 but I’ve gone 3 years now and it’s a blast. I find that I get so into it that I tend to forget the 900000 other people there with me…

    • November 10, 2013 00:33

      There were a few situations where I bailed (those parties at night? No thank you, just too loud for me) but for the most part I didn’t even notice how many people there were.

      • November 10, 2013 00:45

        I went to one party…it was fun but I don’t need to do that again. Your con looked a lot more intimate…the one I went to had 53000 attendees so there was basically no chance to interact with anyone

        • November 10, 2013 00:53

          Yeah… as I said somewhere, there are only about 1000 people at WFC. My friends kept running into people they’d met in previous years.

Leave a Reply

