Skip to content

I Guess I’m Doing This, Then

December 8, 2013

I just bought my membership for next year’s World Fantasy Convention.

I guess I’m really going to Washington, D.C. then.

I would now very much like to hide in a corner and whimper pathetically now, because, honestly, travelling always scares me and this will be my first time travelling outside of Europe (unless you count going to Gran Canaria when I was about ten, which belongs to Spain, but my father always insists it’s technically part of Africa). Also the longest I’ve ever travelled without my family (I’m planning about two weeks).

So that means thinking about flights and hotels and things to do, and it just makes me want to hide. But I also know that at least two of my friends will be there, and I know we’ll have a good time.

Really, the thing I’m most afraid of is that I’ll want to do this every year. Because I might be able to afford this one year, but if I do this more often, there won’t be any money left to save, and I still want my own garden one day, damn it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2013 03:21

    The U.S. Botanical Garden is nice. I wasn’t particularly into plants at the time, so I probably failed to appreciate it adequately, but it was still nice. A little disappointed with the size, which may or may not have been because of unreasonable expectations. (I’m pretty sure it was the first botanical garden I’d ever visited.)

    I lived in DC once, for 64 days. My favorite part was the Metro (subway). You, being European and consequently accustomed to all sorts of awesome mass transportation, will probably not be nearly as impressed. The National Cathedral was pleasant too, though I imagine you’re pretty well-stocked for cathedrals too, so that’s kind of the same deal.

    My least favorite part was getting the flu. If you can help it, try not to get the flu, is my advice. Or at least don’t get the 1996 flu: it was no fun at all. Maybe they have better flus there now.

    • December 8, 2013 03:30

      Botanical gardens are an important part of my travels. I’ll probably have to schedule that part on a day before my friends get there/after they leave, I’m not sure I’ll want to subject them to my excessive plant-picture-taking. 😉

      I’ll try to avoid the flu, and all other diseases. Being sick isn’t fun, even when I’m at home. At least, I think the 1996 flu should be easily avoided, I’m only planning to travel through a couple of time zones, not through actual time.

  2. December 12, 2013 03:10

    I adore D.C. The USBG is a delight (and free!). All the smithsonian museums (so basically all the major ones in the city) are free which is even better. I’m sure you’ll be all conned out but you should at least see ONE museum. Now I’m all sorts of jealous, I want to go to to dc….

    • December 12, 2013 04:23

      Well, I’m planning to stay for about two weeks, so there should be plenty of time for looking at stuff. If I’m going to be travelling that far, I really have to stay longer than just for the con.
      Sorry for making you jealous! 🙂

  3. December 19, 2013 18:11

    Ivy, Tom’s right, all the museums are free. I love the Air and Space Museum, and the Natural History. But they’re all great. The monuments are beautiful, especially at night. And mr_s is right about the metro – cheap and clean and quick transportation anywhere.

    If you get a rental car, you can add more experiences. For example, Annapolis – the capital of Maryland – is about an hour and a half east of DC, and it’s gorgeous, right on the Chesapeake Bay. Or you could drive up to New York City, which is just a couple of hours. The East Coast of the United States is packed close together, so you could easily hit Philadelphia, NYC and DC in one trip. Even without a rental car, it’s easy to get to New York from DC. I like the bus you take from Chinatown in DC to Chinatown in NYC – cheap and fast. They play Chinese movies that I don’t understand, but it’s only a couple of hours.

    There’s the Appalachian trail just to the west of the city. There’s ocean nearby. DC is perfectly centrally located to a lot of cool spots. Be sure to look at the map, because in two weeks, you can do A LOT.

    Be sure to find a little time to go to the Potomac river, which runs through the city. There are lots of parks and areas where you can be completely in Nature, but in the middle of a metro area. If you need a break from the hustle and bustle that is our East Coast.

    I can’t wait to hear about your adventures! You’ll have a ball.

    • December 20, 2013 23:57

      I’m currently kind of hiding in a corner, thinking “oh my god, oh my god, what have I done, I can’t, I don’t know how.” Which I’m aware is not really helping with feeling more prepared.

      I really should start a file to collect all the advice and ideas people are giving me and talk to my friends to see if they know yet how long they can stay, if they know what they want to do, start coordinating plans… but sticking my head under the couch cushions and pretending it’s not going to happen is so tempting!

Leave a Reply

