Skip to content

Book Review Backlog – Spring

January 22, 2014

I’ve been lazy about many things last year, including reading – I have always made my reading goal of 11 books each season, but just barely, and I’m so behind with my reviews.

So here are the books I read between the spring equinox and the summer solstice, many of which I can barely remember…
spring books

1. Käthe Recheis, Wolfsaga (reread, German): dear and often-read book, reviewed here.

2. Boris Koch, Der Drachenflüsterer [The Dragon Whisperer] (new, German): Decently well-written, as far as I remember (possibly even laugh-out-loud funny at times, but it’s been too long to remember for sure), but nothing outstanding.

3. Käthe Recheis, Martys irischer Sommer [Marty’s Irish Summer] (new, German): I have a soft spot for old children’s books, and Ms Recheis wrote some of my favourite books, so when I find one of her books at a flea market, I buy it immediately. I don’t even remember the plot of this, really, but it had the funniest insults I read all year.

4. J.K. Rowling, Ein plötzlicher Todesfall (A Casual Vacancy) (new, German): I would not have bought this – I always said I’m a Harry Potter fan, not a J.K. Rowling fan – so I only read it because I got it as a present. Not really my thing… the real world is depressing.

5. Käthe Recheis, Kleiner Adler und Silberstern [Little Eagle and Silver Star] (new, German): Another flea market purchase, another old children’s book, and again I hardly remember the plot. I know it is about Native Americans, like several of Ms Recheis’ children’s books, and I’m pretty sure it has the same underlying theme of forgiveness and hope like many of her books.

6. Tad Williams, Diary of a Dragon (new, English): Huh. I’m a bad Taddict – I’d completely forgotten I have this. In my defence, it’s very short. But I’m pretty certain it was funny.

7. Brandon Sanderson, The Alloy of Law (new, English): Um. Again, I hardly remember this. Sanderson’s writing is always solid, and his magic systems are interesting, but for some reason, I never find his books really memorable.

8. Noah Gordon, Die Erben des Medicus (Matters of Choice) (new, German): I read several of Gordon’s books growing up and liked them well enough, so I picked this one up at a flea market, but … meh. The modern world is boring and depressing. Luckily it only cost me about 50 cents.

9. N.H. Kleinbaum, Dead Poets Society (new, English): Another flea market book, and I don’t know why I thought this was a good idea. I always complain about books turned movies, but honestly, the other way around is just as bad. You can’t just write down everything that happens on the screen, you have to get inside the characters’ heads. I don’t even remember what it was about, because I was so distracted by the writing and thinking, “there must be plenty of fanfiction writers on the internet who could have done a better job.”

10. J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings (reread, English): What should I say about a book that so much has been said about already? It’s always a good book, it’s one of the foundations of my favourite genre, and I’m always in awe of the depth with which Tolkien created his world, but it also won’t ever be one of my favourite books, because the characters never feel like real people.

11. William Golding, The Lord of the Flies (new, English): Every once in a while, I get this idea that I should read some of the books that we might have read in school, but didn’t. It never ends well, because I still just can’t like books that try to shove some lesson down my throat (or up my optical nerves, rather). But oh well. It only cost me 50 cents, which went to charity, and I’m planning to donate the book again, so they can earn another 50 cents with it, and maybe it’ll go to someone who appreciates it.

(A lot of these books came from the book flea market at Big Town’s Waldorf school, with the proceeds going to Amnesty International. Last time I was there, I asked if I could donate books, too, so that’s what I’ll do as soon as I convince myself to sort through my bookcases… and find the phone number for the guy who organizes the flea market… which is tucked into one of the books I bought last time… I think… which are buried in my far too big TBR pile…)

The “reading my heights in books” chart is a little above my knee now:

reading chart

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

