Skip to content

I Really Try to Like the Books I Read

February 12, 2014
tags: ,

I really like being nice to people, and saying nice things about the things they create. But there are some books that make that so hard. I have finally started on the pile of books I got at WFC, and the one I’m currently reading is just so… urg. Halfway through I still don’t care about the characters or the plot – I keep hoping it will get better, but it just doesn’t – the worldbuilding is just so … stupid, and the writing style makes me feel kind of itchy and like I need to take something and throw it against the wall – either the book or whatever else I have in my hand.

I know, I know, I should just put it down and give up trying to finish it (especially as I got it for free… well, OK, I paid enough for the WFC membership…), but I just can’t leave a story half-finished. But it’s just taking so long.

And books like this are what gives the fantasy genre a bad name. For some reason, bad books in other genres are just kind of… boring, but bad fantasy books are really bad.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2014 08:17

    Your intentions are very honorable, but I’d give in to the temptation and throw it against the wall, then hand it on to a charity shop. Books are like food – one woman’s chocolate cake is another woman’s rice pudding…. So many good books, not enough reading time… so use it wisely.

  2. February 14, 2014 23:16

    I give books 50 pages. If they don’t have my full attention by then, I’m done. But then, I don’t have that “must see how it ends” gene in me like you and lots of people I know do. I can let crappy books go, because the good ones deserve my time more.

Leave a Reply

