Skip to content

The Advantage of a Post-Valentine’s Day Birthday

February 18, 2014

Cheap flowers.

Iris, Narcissus

I could have gotten myself more, but for how little time I actually spend at home, it’s quite enough.

I’ve gotten daffodils for my birthday for as long as I remember, and even though I see far too many of them at work (these were grown at the Teeny Tiny Village Nursery) they are just so cheerful. And since I love blue flowers, I also love these irises. And they fit in so well with the colour scheme in this part of the living/dining room – yo can’t see it in the picture, but the cushions on the chairs and bench are also blue. And the walls in the other part of the room are yellow, so it fits in doubly well.

And my mother got me some tulips that would look so good on the coffee table, but I can’t really put them there. I’m drawing something, for literally the first time in years, and the table is taken up by paper and coloured pencils, and I’m terrified of knocking over the vase on the barely-begun drawing (which will certainly take longer to complete than the tulips will survive…)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2014 00:51

    Very pretty flowers! I love the yellow and purple/blue combination.

    It’s your birthday right after Valentine’s? Happy (belated) birthday!

    • February 19, 2014 07:47

      Thanks – it actually was yesterday, so you were almost on time (just after midnight here.)

  2. February 19, 2014 00:51

    Squee!

  3. February 23, 2014 03:18

    Happy Belated Birthday, Ivy! Pretty flowers!

  4. February 23, 2014 12:41

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

