Skip to content

Dancing and Waterfalls

March 3, 2014

I had a pretty amazing day on Saturday. My medieval dance group had been hired for a performance at a carnival party in Berchtesgaden, which is just across the border in Germany, and I love dancing in public more than I’d ever have believed possible a few years ago. It’s just so much fun to let people see the things I know how to do, and enjoy doing, and even more fun to drag half the audience up to dance with us.

We had live music, too, and at one point, us dancers were sitting down, taking a break, and talking about what we should do next. Someone brought up La Cochinchine, but we decided against it because we haven’t practised it in ages (it’s so much fun, but it’s also really exhausting, so nobody ever suggests it.)

Then a bit later, we heard the band actually playing the Cochinchine, and decided, “what the hell, let’s just try it!”

And it’s the best we have ever danced it! We were still all gasping for breath at the end of it, but we didn’t mess up once the way we usually do.

I don’t have any videos of the performance yet – I know we have at least one, because I filmed Black Nag with somebody’s camera, but they aren’t online yet.

In any case, I had an absolute blast, and I’m pretty sure everyone else – dancers and audience – did too.

On the way to Berchtesgaden, we also stopped for a short hike through a gorge called Alpbachklamm. My camera didn’t quite like the cloudy day and narrow, dark gorge, but I still ended up with far too many pictures of clear water and marble rocks and a few flowers:

s100_9349

s100_9355

s100_9262 Hepatica nobilis

s100_9263 Helleborus niger

s100_9276 Petasites

s100_9277 Erica

s100_9284

s100_9300

s100_9304 Helleborus niger

s100_9317

s100_9319

s100_9328

s100_9331

s100_9336

s100_9339

s100_9340

 

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2014 02:32

    Medieval dance group! That sounds like so much fun. And it sounds like you had a wonderful time.

    Wonderful images. It looks like a great place to visit, and relax in!

    • March 3, 2014 07:43

      It is! When I find some new videos of us dancing, I’ll post them. And they’re all such nice, funny people!

  2. March 3, 2014 03:12

    What is the purple flower that looks like it was found next to a witch’s hut?

Leave a Reply

