Skip to content

This Is Why I Can Never Close My Curtains

March 4, 2014

Tetrastigma voinierianum

Not that I mind, really – I usually don’t close that curtain anyway. But even if I wanted to, I’d first have to get a ladder and get that Tetrastigma voinierianum out of the way. I should probably get it down anyway and move it somewhere else, but I actually like how this looks.

And I absolutely love it when the Tetrastigma is growing like this, almost fast enough to watch. It’ll probably not do this for very long – only as long as I remember to water it every day, the way I do now, because the pot is much to small for the size the plant has grown to – I think I’ve only repotted it once in all the years I’ve had it. But this is the reason why it’s growing around the kitchen door – so I will walk past it often, and remember to water it (usually in the form of dumping a half-drunk glass of water in the pot on the way to doing the dishes.) The fact that I’m currently doing pretty well at fertilizing my plants is probably helping as well. But soon enough I will forget to water for a day or two, and the Tetrastigma will dramatically drop a foot-long piece of vine on my head.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. daphnegould permalink
    March 5, 2014 00:15

    I so love plants that have world domination on their mind.

  2. March 9, 2014 04:57

    Jealousness! Mine is putting out a ton of new growth but it’s hiding in the basement so who knows how it’ll look when it hardens off

    • March 9, 2014 13:12

      And this crazy thing has grown another foot since I took that picture.

Trackbacks

  1. I Feel a Little Threatened | Letters & Leaves
  2. Look What I Can Do | Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

