Skip to content

Great News!

March 12, 2014

What a relief to wake up this morning and look through my e-mail and find one announcing that the proposed EU seed law (which originally would have made heirloom seeds pretty much illegal and still was pretty shitty after some revisions were made) has been rejected by the EU parliament, with 511 to 130 votes.

So my faith in humanity has been temporarily restored – apparently there are still some sane people in the world, and some of them are even politicians.

This is such a relief for me, in so many ways. As a home gardener, as a horticulturist, as a person who would still believe in the importance of biodiversity even if she wasn’t either of those two things, and also because if this had been passed, I would be beating myself up for not doing more – not posting about it more, here and on my German balcony gardening blog, even though neither has all that many readers, for not talking to my customers about it and collecting signatures against it, for not pestering politicians with e-mails…

But even if I didn’t do all these things… it is over, it has been rejected, and it’s been a long time since I’ve felt so relieved.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

