Skip to content

Going Back to Osten Ard, Going Back to Osten Ard, Going Back to Osten Ard! (Yes, This Needed to Be Said Three Times)

April 4, 2014

I really need to go to sleep, but I really need to post this first:

In this new trilogy, Williams journeys back to the magical land of Osten Ard and continues the story of beloved characters King Simon and Queen Miriamele, married now for thirty years, and introduces newcomer Prince Morgan, their heir apparent. Also expanded is the story of the twin babies born to Prince Josua and Lady Vorzheva—a birth heralded by prophecy, which has been the subject of feverish fan speculation since the release of To Green Angel Tower in 1993.

In The Last King of Osten Ard, Williams returns with the ingenious worldbuilding, jaw dropping twists and turns, and unparalleled storytelling that have made him one of fantasy’s brightest stars for more thirty years.

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you know I’m perhaps a little obsessed with Tad Williams, and have met him several times.

Almost exactly a year ago, I was getting all excited because Tad had said he’d write about Osten Ard again. And then, for all we knew, it was only going to be one book.

And then a few months later, I met Tad in Germany. And we were sitting outside his hotel having drinks and ice cream and now I can finally say that this was what had me keysmashing and giggling madly every time I tried to write about it was exactly this: that there would not just be a new Osten Ard book, there would be a new Osten Ard TRILOGY.

And this is Tad. Everything turns into four books. So I’ll believe the “trilogy” part when I hold the last book in my hands. We’ll see if it’ll actually be just The Witchwood Crown, Empire of Grass, and The Navigator’s Children, or if Tad will have to come up with yet another title…

 

I can’t tell you how excited I was when I heard this was going to be announced – I literally fell off the couch and rolled around on the floor. It’s been a long couple of months that me and my fellow Scrollbearers have kept that secret.
And now the announcement has come a little earlier than we expected – there was going to be cake, and a more organized post, and a party at the Quiller’s Mint. Instead you just get my half-asleep babbling as I bounce on my bed and grin broadly. And the party will happen anyway, I’m sure, and there will be cake later.

And now you know what this was about. Now I’m allowed to tell.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Michael permalink
    April 4, 2014 01:24

    Awesome news!!!! Thank you!!!

  2. April 4, 2014 05:55

    Reblogged this on Welcome to Osten Ard.

  3. ylvsladuchesse permalink
    April 4, 2014 12:02

    I cannot believe that after all this time I was just asleep when the big secret was relvealed.
    Darn, darn, darn. The only scrollbearer who missed it.

    But I’m of course incredibly happy to finally bloat about having known for months.

    *giggles*

    This giggling is becoming a habit!

    • April 4, 2014 18:16

      You might have missed this, but at least you were there in Stuttgart! And without you, Tad might not have told us at all.

      I’m still giggling too, and grinning and bouncing!

Leave a Reply

