Skip to content

Harvest Monday – June 23, 2014

June 23, 2014

Okay. I’m going to try to make this a more regular thing again. Now that I’m digging myself out from under too much work and too many bad habits and computer issues and lack of self discipline… for weeks, I was barely even keeping my balcony garden alive and only just keeping up with eating the things that needed to be  eaten, so I didn’t take many pictures, and keeping track of my harvests suffered too. Usually I’m pretty good at putting things into my excel table… this time, I had this:

hm01_0033

Which covered a couple of weeks – I don’t even know how many. The past five weeks of my records are a complete mess.

But I have harvested things. Lots of things. I don’t know when most of the pictures are from, because my camera is a mess, too, and the date is always off (it always jumps back to January 1, 2006 whenever I have to change the batteries, and I’m always too lazy to reset it.)

So those pictures are probably from the last month or so instead of from the last week. From now on, I intend to keep better track again.

From the balcony:

 

hm100_9919

hm100_9882

hm100_9883

hm101_0017

hm101_0008

hm101_0011

hm101_0010

From the community garden:

hm100_9884

hm100_9920

And the first couple of raspberries from the forest:

hm101_0007

(I’m also feeling rather frustrated with my camera, because none of the pictures I took on my hike/raspberry gathering trip turned out good. Not a single one. Maybe it is time to break my rule of “don’t replace it until it’s broken”. Because there must be affordable cameras out there that can handle taking pictures in the forest – mine pretty much only cooperates in bright sunlight any more. And occasionally not even then.)

Anyway. Those are my harvests, and now that I’ve updated my excel table, my balcony harvests were worth about € 71, and I haven’t calculated the stuff from the community garden yet, or my expenses. The next thing on my far too long list of things that I didn’t do in the last couple of weeks.

Anyway. (Again.) Daphne probably hasn’t lost track the way I have (keeping up with blogs is another thing I haven’t done in the last weeks) so I suggest you head over to her blog and see what she and the other Harvest Monday participants have been harvesting.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2014 23:09

    I am looking forward to our raspberries. Just a few more days, I think. Nice harvests!

    • June 23, 2014 23:18

      Thanks!
      The raspberries are just starting to ripen here, which is why I didn’t get more. Maybe I’ll try again tomorrow.

  2. Dave permalink
    June 24, 2014 00:16

    I broke down and got a Canon point and shoot camera last year. It is so handy to have when I don’t want to carry my big camera. Great looking berries!

    • June 24, 2014 00:45

      The size is another thing that annoys me about mine. I’m sure that when I got it seven years ago, it was a good camera, but now it’s just too big and impractical for the quality of pictures it takes.

  3. daphnegould permalink
    June 24, 2014 21:00

    Love those peas. I really ought to plant more than just green. I really do like the yellow colored peas.

    • June 24, 2014 22:01

      I like them too, but they seem to be more prone to powdery mildew than my other varieties. I keep spraying them with horsetail tea, which helps a bit, but they still look quite bad.

Leave a Reply

