Skip to content

Harvest Monday Tuesday – July 8, 2014

July 8, 2014

It seems to be turning into a habit, being a day late for Harvest Monday. This time, I can’t even claim harvest-related distractions like last week. (I was just up late last night booking flights. So I’m officially going to be in the US this November.)

hm100_0145

Strawberries for breakfast…

 

hm100_0136

Kohlrabi for lunch…

hm100_0137

hm100_0140

Peas for dinner…

(‘Golden Sweet’ and ‘Blauwschokker’ have reached the end of their lifespan now. I’m not impressed with them this year – lots of powdery mildew and not much of a harvest. ‘Ambrosia’ has been doing much better, and now that the weather is a little cooler again, they seem to be getting a second wind.)

hm100_0138

But most importantly, a bucket full of sour cherries from an older woman who lives a few houses down from the Teeny Tiny Village Nursery. It’s kind of sad that there are all these gardens, in all these villages, full of old fruit trees, belonging to old people who can no longer harvest and use all the fruit, and who do either not have children and grandchildren, or who have a family who’s just not interested in helping with harvesting and preserving and eating…

But sometimes it leads to a conversation over the garden fence, and an invitation to come on over and pick as much as I want, and to filling a bucket with cherries while an overexcited westie licks every part of me that he can reach. (He is the second friendliest dog I know – but absolutely no competition to my boss’s dog, who is just the sweetest.)

3 kg of sour cherries all in all, of which 1 kg landed in the freezer, 1 kg was canned (I would have canned more, but I ran out of jars) and the rest eaten fresh – I’m actually eating the last ones as I type this. I really wanted to bake something, but it’s been another very full week – one brother’s birthday, dance practice, medieval fair in Big Town (where we showed off some of our historical dances), catching up with cleaning and then booking those flights… never enough time for baking!

Anyway, hop on over to Daphne’s Dandelions and all the other, presumably less distracted, Harvest Monday participants!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. daphnegould permalink
    July 8, 2014 23:54

    Isn’t it so nice when you get fruit like that? Usually I’m the one giving things away, but occasionally things come in too. And fruit is always a favorite.

    • July 10, 2014 22:09

      I hope that one day, I can be the one giving it away. Although even with how little space I have, I sometimes have enough to give away/too much to keep up with. Not fruit, though.

Leave a Reply

