Skip to content

Harvest Monday – July 14, 2014

July 14, 2014

Look! I’m actually posting this on time for once!

But I’m also tired, for no particularly good reason, so I’ll go the lazy “pictures and few words” route again. (I feel like such a bad blogger this year.)

hm100_0151

hm100_0149

hm100_0150

hm100_0159

hm100_0158

hm100_0164

From the community garden – actually, I harvested another zucchini, kohlrabi and iceberg lettuce that I didn’t take a picture of. One of those harvests went to my mother and the other to my best friend, since I just can’t keep up right now. (Although I still helped eat the lettuce, since I was invited to lunch in both cases.)

hm100_0160

The flowers in the background sadly were not homegrown – I brought them from work as birthday presents for the Clown Brother and my best friend’s mother (and then used the picture as festive decoration to celebrate the wedding of two of my mostly-online friends). I generally hate anything to do with cutflowers, but cheerful little bouquets like that are fun.

Happy wedding, Aan and xavie!

And now, to bed. Maybe tomorrow I will actually remember about Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. daphnegould permalink
    July 15, 2014 12:27

    Lovely harvests. I’m not much of a cut flower person either, but a zinnia broke off the other day when I was weeding and I brought it inside. I’m kinda liking the one huge flower in my canning jar.

    • July 23, 2014 23:39

      I don’t mind having cutflowers in the house (although I don’t like fancy, expensive stuff like roses at all. I’d much rather have a modest zinnia or tulip) – but I’ve always hated working with them. (Although it helps that my boss doesn’t have high expectations for our bouquets – just quickly throwing something together is totally fine, and anyone who wants more than that can go somewhere else.)

Leave a Reply

