Skip to content

Seven Years Ago…

July 21, 2014

I was just reminded that it’s been seven years since Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows came out. Seven years since the seventh book. This deserves a quick post before I fall into bed, I guess.

Seven years since I was Professor Dumbledore for the day, seven years since translating the book out loud for a gaggle of kids….

s100_1014

s100_1007

Seven years since reading through that night, seven years since all those tears, seven years since it ended, seven years since I had to leave that world and those characters behind at last.

To everyone who’s wished Harry Potter would go on forever, I’ve always said I’m glad it ended, I’m glad Rowling had an end in mind from the start, and I still stand by that. But that doesn’t mean I’m not sad that it ended.

But what I miss isn’t so much the story going on, it’s that sense of easy community it brought, finding people who knew and loved the same thing everywhere, always having something to talk about. And maybe I also miss being that young and enthusiastic and loving something without reservations, which isn’t that easy any more…

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2014 05:14

    I’m glad it ended, but glad it is still alive.

Leave a Reply

