Skip to content

Harvest Monday – August 11, 2014

August 11, 2014

The balcony/community garden harvests keep trickling in, interrupted by days of far too much fruit from somewhere else…

hm100_0361

hm100_0363

hm100_0364

hm100_0372

My first time growing broccoli wasn’t all that successful (first the plants got half-eaten by a hare and then I almost forgot to harvest them – should have done that a couple of days earlier) and these “balcony-sized” short carrots didn’t really impress me either.

hm100_0373

Apples from one of my work-neighbours…

 

 

hm100_0374

I’ve been very grateful for the apple peeler/slicer thingy my mother got me for my birthday this year. Even if I doesn’t work perfectly for irregularly-shaped, somewhat damaged apples, it still made it easier to fill the dehydrator.

hm100_0382

Some ingredients for Sunday’s pasta salad – I didn’t get a picture of the finished salad, because I got distracted by taking pictures of Squirrel, my almost-nephew (he is my best friend’s son, and since she is an only child, and we’ve been best friends for 20+ years, I’ve become his honorary aunt. And so of course he is the most adorable baby in the history of babies.) Yes, Sunday was a lovely day, spent at a local lake with best friend and Squirrel, my mother and the Clown Brother and not enough of that pasta salad…

No, no dreaming about the lake now. Instead I will say thank you to Daphne for always hosting Harvest Monday, and wander off to my bed and my book…

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. daphnegould permalink
    August 12, 2014 01:08

    Those apples are a lovely gift. And I’m not a fan of short carrots either. Too much work to clean up in the kitchen. My last garden had clay soil so I couldn’t grow really long ones, but the stubby ones just didn’t do it for me.

    • August 12, 2014 06:39

      It’s not the work that bothers me, but that it’s not an optimal use of space, since they’re not using the whole depth of the container.

Leave a Reply

