Skip to content

Oops

August 24, 2014

s100_0474I really didn’t need any more books or plants…

But I woke up early on Saturday, early enough to go to the flea market in Big Town, and… well… oops…

s100_0480

And then, because there was still time, and I still had a tram ticket, so I decided I might as well go to the garden centre that I don’t get to that often.

s100_0475I don’t know anything about Rhoicissus digitata, except that I like climbing plants, and it is something I don’t see a lot (maybe I’ve never seen it before), and it wasn’t very expensive, so I decided to give it a try.

s100_0476I’ve wanted a Sparmannia africana for a long time, but I’ve always resisted, because they grow pretty big and I don’t have the space for that.

But… but… they were marked down to € 3.00 – from € 8.99! – because they had grown too big – far too big – for their pots. They were in 14 cm pots, and the one I bought – the shortest one – is over 1 m tall!

For € 3,00 I can give it a try… I’ll probably cut it back quite strongly, and see if I can get the cuttings to root. If I can, they’ll be something else to sell at work.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2014 23:42

    I’m so jealous of both of your plant purchase, both plants I’d freak out about if I ever saw them for sale here!

    • August 25, 2014 22:20

      It’s funny, Sparmannias used to be impossible to get, just a few years ago (even though they were in all the books), and now they’re suddenly everywhere! But Rhoicissus is definitely rare.

Leave a Reply

