Skip to content

Harvest Monday – August 25, 2014

August 25, 2014

Only two harvests over the last week – I was (finally, finally, finally!) so busy reading books again that I could barely take the time to cook, let alone to bother with picking and cleaning and chopping homegrown vegetables. It’s been a long time since I’ve read so much or so enthusiastically. (For the record, Sleeping Late on Judgement Day by Tad Williams, And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini, Inkheart by Cornelia Funke and Fool’s Assassin by Robin Hobb, and now I’m doing my yearly Harry Potter reread. I’m actually in the mood to write book reviews again, too.)

s100_0445

Tomatoes, peppers, basil and garlic chives for pasta salad. I ate that three times a day while devouring Fool’s Assassin.

The other harvest wasn’t until Saturday, when I got fed up with my spider-mite-infested eggplants and decided to pull them out.

 

s100_0450

The eggplants (570 g, which means that, spider mites or not, this was my best harvest since I started this balcony gardening thing) went into a vaguely moussaka-like thing, and the tomatoes into a salad.

And now, I think it’s time to go to bed and read for a bit…

And as always, a big thank you to Daphne, who I’m sure doesn’t neglect her garden and her harvests while she gets lost in fictional worlds…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. daphnegould permalink
    August 26, 2014 00:51

    Lovely harvests. I’ve been bad about reading this year. Too much trouble keeping my mind focused.

    • August 26, 2014 21:50

      That’s been my problem for much too long. And now, suddenly, I can focus again.

  2. August 26, 2014 19:19

    What a beautiful combination of colours! I love reading too but that is usually relegated to just before bed, especially during the summer. Now in the winter, it’s a different story…

    • August 26, 2014 21:52

      Before last week, I hadn’t read before bed in months (only during lunch break and on the train to and from work.) Usually winter is my time to read, too, but last winter, that didn’t really work either.

  3. August 27, 2014 20:15

    I love reading, and it is the BEST when I have books that compel me to read. Sometimes I get into a funk where none of the books I pick up are compelling. I am glad you are finding that sort of reading right now.

    And in the mood to review books, too. I haven’t been in the mood to review books in a couple years now.

    • August 27, 2014 20:27

      Not having any really good/interesting books was a big part of my problem. And that contributed to spending too much time on silly things on the internet, and that turned into a hard-to-shake habit.

  4. August 30, 2014 07:48

    Yay for reading! Good for you, lady! You have no reason to apologize.

    • August 30, 2014 22:47

      Yay for reading indeed – I think it was reading that finally cured me of my listlessness.

Leave a Reply

