Skip to content

Harvest Monday Tuesday – September 2, 2014

September 2, 2014

Late again, because yesterday, I spent every spare minute reading Harry Potter or writing my traditional September 1st post (and hit “publish” one minute before midnight. Every year I swear I won’t cut it that close, and every year I do.)

Anyway.

hm100_0499

The last of the windowsill carrots, a balcony railing kohlrabi, the first of the balcony beans, a leek and a minuscule amount of broccoli from the community garden. I think all of this went into a big pot of stew.

 hm100_0500

A completely ridiculous amount of apples from the work neighbours’ garden again… so far I’ve processed about 12 kg (dried, apple sauce and one pie) and eaten a few for lunch, but that was half at best…

hm100_0507

A couple of peppers for a pasta dish…

And now I’m off to sleep. I had two very late nights due to rereading/posting about Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix...

Thanks as always to Daphne, and good night!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. daphnegould permalink
    September 3, 2014 02:20

    Lovely harvests. And I so need to buy some apples. My husband lives on applesauce and the apples are starting to show up in the farmers market.

    • September 3, 2014 07:00

      I forget to eat my applesauce most of the time (or the dried apples, but I like having them around for when I forget to buy fruit). But I just can’t pass up free apples (or any sort of free food, really.)

Leave a Reply

