Skip to content

Harvest Monday Tuesday – September 23, 2014

September 23, 2014

I skipped last week, not because I forgot or was lazy, but because was so busy doing other things all week that I had hardly harvested anything. And now I’m late again, because I didn’t feel well yesterday (still don’t today, but well enough to post, at least.)

I spent most of the past week catching up on harvesting tomatoes – we’ve been having such unpleasantly cold weather that I neither wanted to eat nor to harvest tomatoes, but last week was finally warm and sunny again.

hm100_0679

hm100_0680

hm100_0684

Beans, tomatoes and basil from the balcony, apples from a nearby park, and from the community garden, a yellow zucchini and my first sweetcorn in many years (since 2007 at least, which was my last year growing vegetables in my parents’ garden, but probably longer, because I remember I was having trouble getting the corn to grow properly.) So, they might not be large or perfect cobs, but I’m still so happy!

hm100_0704

hm100_0744

Now I’m mostly caught up with the tomatoes (except for the currant tomatoes), just in time for the weather to turn cold and wet again. Brr. It’s been such a wet year that even on the balcony, the tomatoes are succumbing to late blight – the first time this has ever happened.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. daphnegould permalink
    September 23, 2014 23:37

    I could use some of that wet. We have been very very dry. Usually September is one of our wettest months. But not so far. I keep having to water the garden. I don’t remember the last time I had to do that in September.

    • September 24, 2014 21:04

      If this weather has been good for one thing, then it’s my water bill – one of the main downsides of growing things on a balcony is that I have to spend a lot of time watering.

Leave a Reply

