Skip to content

Bye-bye to Another Bike

September 25, 2014

My bicycle got stolen. Again. I only bought it about a year and two months ago, to replace another stolen bike. And it’s only been a bit over a week since I took this picture:

100_0677

I needed a broom for a dance we’re working on (we’ve been hired for a witch-themed event, and I can’t wait until I can share a video of what we’ve come up with), and since I don’t have a car, this is how I transport such things… I quite literally rode my broom home.

And then there’s that sticker on it, that black/yellow/red one that says “MOFF” that made us come up with an idea that made me laugh for the first time since I discovered it had been stolen. MOFF is a satirical comic magazine (that probably only makes sense to Austrians) and they always have a page for letters and pictures of MOFF stickers in random places… so I might send them this picture, with a message that says something like, “Missing: MOFF sticker, with attached bicycle” and hope they’ll publish it. Maybe it’ll turn up… and if not, at least some people will get a laugh out of it.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2014 22:39

    I love the idea of the ‘missing sticker’ notice. I hope you get your bike back.

    The broom pic is awesome!

    • September 25, 2014 23:15

      I honestly don’t have much hope that I’ll get it back… the police basically told me so, but I didn’t have much hope before, either.

      I love that picture so much that I can still smile at it instead of getting angry because I want my bike back.

  2. September 26, 2014 10:51

    I hope that the miserable git who stole your bike chokes on his Cornflakes and shrinks all his underwear in the wash. Alternatively, if you get hold of him, give us a call and we’ll give him a taste of your broomstick.

    • September 29, 2014 23:25

      If I get hold of him (or her), I think I’ll use my broomstick all by myself. Or whatever other object happens to be to hand.
      I’m not quite so angry any more because I got a used bike for free, but I did feel rather violent at first…

Trackbacks

  1. Harvest Monday – October 6, 1014 | Letters & Leaves
  2. Treading Water, Swimming to Shore | Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

