Skip to content

Harvest Monday – October 20, 2014

October 20, 2014

I haven’t been harvesting so much as cleaning up my gardens – the one on the balcony and the one in the community garden – and occasionally finding something edible.

hm100_0930

A few beans I must have missed when I picked what I thought were the last beans, and a pepper that suddenly landed in front of my feet.

Last year, I had the brilliant idea to plant my surplus Oxalis tetraphylla (Four-leaf Sorrel, “lucky clover”) bulbs in the community garden, since they have fleshy, edible roots. But then I was too lazy to harvest them, and already had so many bulbs from what I’d grown on the balcony that I didn’t know what to do with them… so I decided to just leave the Oxalis in the ground to freeze to death.

Only, the weather didn’t play along, and all the Oxalis came back in the spring. I picked out every single bulb I could find when I dug over the plot (and later, because I didn’t know what else to do with them, planted them, a handful to a pot, and took them in to sell at work) and still missed so many. The ground under my sweetcorn was so full of Oxalis, you couldn’t tell I had removed any at all.

So, the same thing all over again when I pulled up the corn and the weeds… diggging up all the Oxalis. This time, at least, it was a bit easier to find, since they still had leaves. I came home with a whole bucket of bulbs, and then spent the evening sorting them into bulbs for replanting and roots to eat.

hm100_0941

(Oh, and I found a last tiny zucchini, too.)

I even sorted the bulbs into the ones with big roots, which I’ll plant again next year, and the ones with small or no storage roots, which I’ll sell at work again. Although I don’t know if the size of the roots actually has to do with genetics, or just with how much space and sunlight the plants had. But I suppose it can’t hurt to select for large roots…

And apparently, those were all of my harvests. Mostly, I have been eating the tomatoes I harvested a week ago. And I have no idea what is going on with these tomatoes… I have had siamese twin tomatoes before, but never one growing on top of the other like that. Makes me wonder what the flower looked like!

hm100_0932b

4 Comments leave one →
  1. daphnegould permalink
    October 21, 2014 13:05

    I’ve never seen a tomato(s) like that before. Cute.

  2. October 21, 2014 15:06

    I’ve never heard of lucky clover roots – what do they taste like?

    • November 6, 2014 00:41

      They don’t really have a very strong taste, maybe very slightly sour from the oxalic acid.

Leave a Reply

