Skip to content

The Bears Have Not Eaten Me Yet

November 10, 2014

When I travel, I always try to have a quote from The Dragonbone Chair on my bag.

P_20141110_033416

(I wish I could post better picture, but I can’t get those off my camera right now, so instead you get a crappy picture taken with this borrowed tablet.)

Bhojujik mo qunquc means, “if the bears don’t eat you, it’s home.” I have kind of a had time with travelling, with leaving my comfortable, familiar places and routines, and it’s nice to have this reminder that anywhere can be home.

(Firsfron of ostenard.com was the first person ever to not just notice the embroidery (very few people do) but to immediately understand it. But that did not surprise me at all, given how much he knows about Osten Ard.)

And right now, home is this:

P_20141110_003951

And this, in case the picture doesn’t already say “really fancy, really expensive”, is a room at the Willard, which is, what, two blocks or so from the White House.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2014 05:25

    Wow! First of all, fabulous hotel room. Second, I love your travel bag and quote, and now I have to google to find out more about it!

    • November 10, 2014 05:33

      This hotel is just … wow. I’ve never even been near anything like this. And Dragonbone Chair, or the trilogy in general… I’ll sing it’s praises until the day I die.

  2. November 10, 2014 05:44

    You’re the first person I’ve ever met, Ivynettle, who embroiders in Qanuc language! Inij koku na siqqasa min taq… see you tomorrow! 🙂

    • November 10, 2014 06:03

      And you’re the first person who’s ever commented on my blog in Qanuc. (I should totally have greeted you at the airport with, “Henimaatuq! Ea kup!”)

      • November 10, 2014 06:10

        I had to look that one up… that would have been great! And now I’m running out of Qanuc phrases that are appropriate. “Mindunob inik yat” sounds quite inappropriate for your travels in my land.

        • November 11, 2014 06:27

          I actually had to look that one up, but yeah, I would prefer that not to happen.

Leave a Reply

