Skip to content

[Today a Month Ago] A Day of Many Pictures

December 10, 2014

Another day when I didn’t open my journal at all. But at least this time, there are a lot of pictures.

DSC00272

DSC00271

This was the day we had our tour at the Capitol. I still felt awkward about touristy picture-taking (I don’t know what my problem with it is, really. Everyone does it. But it feels weird.) and the pictures didn’t come out as good as I would have liked, but oh well. Probably still better than they’d have been with the old camera.

DSC00277

They’re renovating the dome, so from the inside the rotunda, it looks like a gigantic donut.

DSC00278

DSC00280

The picture-taking was also made a little difficult by the fact that we weren’t allowed to wander away from our group, unless we wanted to take the “Capitol police tour”, which would be very boring and only take us back to the visitor center (to quote our guide, who introduced himself as “the giant walking tomato”.)

DSC00284

DSC00283

DSC00285

Paintings all around, depicting the earlier history of the USA. Since statues are apparently easier to move around, they place those between the paintings to commemorate more recent notable events.

DSC00291

This one (which I couldn’t get a better picture of because we weren’t allowed to leave the group) was made to celebrate women’s right to vote – deliberately unfinished, because women’s rights were similarly incomplete.

DSC00292

DSC00294

DSC00295

The ceiling of the National Statuary Hall. It’s one of those rooms where, if you stand in a certain spot, you can easily hear things said on the other side of the room, which we got to try out.

DSC00303

(Click the picture if you want to see a larger version.)

DSC00302

I had no idea most of those statues were. I only remember Rosa Parks from English class (I can’t remember that we ever did anything about the US in history class).

DSC00309

If we ever wanted to be arrested for reading, this would have been our chance.

Ylvs and Cyan left us at this point, to get some rest and then go shopping, while Firs and I visited the Congress gallery and wondered if, when you’re not allowed to take photos or write, you are allowed to draw or paint.

DSC00310

Visitor Center

DSC00305

DSC00315

DSC00323

Obligatory tourist picture…

DSC00326

Pretty trees, once again…

DSC00328

DSC00330

Uh oh… you see that in the background? If you know me at all, you know what happens when you let me loose in a botanical garden… far too many pictures! I won’t even try to post all of them. Not even most.

botanical gardens

DSC00358

DSC00373

cDSC00378

DSC00380

DSC00431

DSC00449

DSC00453

DSC00516

DSC00535

botanical gardens

It was a good thing that it was November and there wasn’t too much to see outdoors any more, otherwise we’d have been there for another few hours. As it was, I already wore Firs out so that he had to sit down several time, and left him quite impressed with my botanical babbling. (And none of the plants were even that unusual to me.)

(But there’ll still be at least one more post with more pictures from the botanical garden.)

Since I could keep the outdoors part short, we had enough time to go to the Museum of Natural History as well, so Firs could look at fossils. Which weren’t of much interest to me, so I didn’t take any pictures.

What I did take pictures of, though, was the massive amount of porta-potties along the Mall. I feel like there must be more porta-potties in DC than in the entirety of Austria.

DSC00587

Seriously, there was no end to them. Wherever you looked along the Mall, there was a double row of them. Porta-potty capital of the world.

DSC00586

I might have a weird problem with taking pictures of famous buildings, but absolutely none with taking a bunch of pictures of porta-potties…

DSC00593

Sunset with Washington Monument and porta-potties.

But sometimes I also manage to take touristy pictures without feeling too weird about it.

DSC00611

That was quite a long day, out and about and looking at things from too early in the morning until after sunset… I think we even completely forgot to eat!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2014 22:54

    The photos are gorgeous, Ivy!

    The female statue next to Rosa Parks, the one at the podium, is Frances Willard, an educator and social worker. No idea who the painter statue guy is. I was really glad to see that the National Statuary has a lot of minorities and women represented. Maybe not enough, but it was great to see King Kamehameha and Sacajawea and other natives well-represented in the statue gallery.

    As for the unfinished statue of the three women, I think the artist just ran out of time and made an excuse: “It’s unfinished because women’s rights still have a long way to go.” πŸ˜‰

    You really documented those porta-potties! While viewing your photos, future generations will wonder why there was such a huge need for porta-potties in DC in 2014…

    Sorry I dragged you around the fossils so much. But I was quite glad to get to see them, so I’m only a little sorry.

    • December 10, 2014 23:05

      No need to be sorry! I didn’t mind seeing them – I just didn’t want to take pictures of them. (And I’m sure the fossils took a lot less time than my plants.)

      • December 11, 2014 01:34

        I’m sure the plants took longer than the fossils, but the fossils never actually moved, unlike the entertaining Mimosa… πŸ˜‰

        • December 11, 2014 20:23

          It’s so funny, because Mimosas have become so normal and common for me, I’d almost forgotten how exciting they can be for other people.

          • December 11, 2014 20:43

            For me, it felt like discovering an Ent: a plant that has feelings and moves around. Magical!

Trackbacks

  1. October Calendar Picture | Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

