Skip to content

[Today a Month Ago] Fantasy Dinner Party

December 16, 2014

One of the things I think sometimes is how other people talk about their fantasy dinner parties, about the writers or celebrities or whoever they’d invite, and then I think about how us Smarchers get to do just that, to hang out with Tad Williams over drinks or a meal. Or, in this case, be invited to his house.

DSC00720

A picture that doesn’t have anything to do with anything else – loading cranes in the port of Oakland that supposedly inspired George Lucas. I’ve only seen Star Wars once, but I can see the resemblance.

Cyan and I picked up Jeremy and his brother, and made a stop at the beach in Santa Cruz first.

DSC00726

DSC00725

Of course I was also sent to dip my feet into the ocean – I may complain about being attacked by a higher-than-expected wave, and being a little damp for the rest of the day, but it’s true, it would have been a shame to have travelled all this way and not do it.

And everyone talks about how cold the water is, but no, not really – I’ve been in much colder lakes and rivers here in Austria.

DSC00723

I would happily have spent more time at the beach. The boardwalk, on the other hand, was a little too noisy for me.

DSC00728

DSC00729

I was already a little headachy from the boardwalk when we got to Tad’s house, which was already full of people.

I find it difficult to really say anything about this day. Partly because I was simply overwhelmed with too many people, too many voices, too many conversations to keep track of, let alone participate in – and especially, so many people I didn’t know, or at least not well, and new people in large quantities are difficult for me. I wish I had talked more, especially when Deborah showed me around her garden, but I just couldn’t make myself.

But at the same time, even though I don’t feel as if I really got to know any of them, it was nice to put a face to so many names I’ve known a long time, and get so many signatures for the Smarchmap, and to meet all the dogs.

DSC02186

The other reason why I find it difficult to say anything is… well. You don’t really go around typing up conversations with friends and putting them on the internet, do you? That would be a little creepy. So the few things I remember are things that I’ll talk about when talking to people in person, but not publicly on the internet, that is the line I’ve drawn for myself.

So all that I’ve left to show you of this day is a picture of not quite everyone that had gathered at Tad and Deborah’s that day (one couple with baby had already left at this point):

DSC00740

I guess that’s the most people the Dragons of Ordinary Farm cover has been photographed with so far.

Soon after this picture was taken, it was time for all of us to leave, and I still can’t think of that without laughing about the sentence, “Save the Pope!” But I guess that’s a case of “you had to be there.”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2014 18:30

    Great photos! The Smarchmoot photo is my favorite, but the Star Wars one tickles my geek side. The pirate photo is funny!

    • December 17, 2014 18:37

      I’m really happy that we managed to get everyone in one picture! (Well, except that one couple who left early.)

      • December 17, 2014 18:51

        Yeah! And everyone looks happy. So often with those big group photos, one person is looking off-camera, or moved and is blurry, or has his/her eyes closed…

        • December 17, 2014 19:23

          Well, I do have several pictures (thanks to a certain helpful young man who joined us for a bit), so I could pick the best one. Actually, everyone was really good about smiling and looking at the camera, but DD has her eyes closed in one of them.

Trackbacks

  1. A Visit to the Beach | Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

