Skip to content

[Today a Month Ago] Alone in the Rain

December 19, 2014

I’ve said it before, typical tourist things make me feel oddly uneasy. Part of that might also be that I don’t like crowds. So I didn’t mind the light rain that day too much, because it kept most of the tourists away from the cable cars and Fisherman’s Wharf.

DSC01435

I’m glad I don’t have to drive those cars…

DSC01437

Doesn’t really give a good idea of how steep it is…

DSC01456

DSC01455

DSC01458

DSC01459

What a fitting name…

DSC01461

DSC01460

DSC01464

DSC01466

I don’t even know what flowers these are, but they’re pretty.

DSC01470

Alcatraz

DSC01451

It’s not like we don’t have gulls here, but you don’t usually see them up close like this.

DSC01472

But we certainly don’t have gulls like the one in front, which from a bit of googling, might be a Heermann’s gull. (The other one is just a young one of whatever the other species is. I don’t want to spend even more time researching gulls. Even though at the same time I always want to know everything. I don’t usually see young gulls either, because they mostly just come here during the winter, not during the breeding season.)

DSC01479

DSC01478

Found the famous sea lions.

DSC01497

DSC01493

Sometimes I really like this panorama thingy my new camera can do, although it’s not the best format for the blog (I recommend clicking on it for a larger version)

DSC01508

I would never be found in such a place if there were more people. Thank god for the rain. I briefly thought about whether I should buy anything for my family and friends at home, but souvenir shops disgust me.

DSC01526

DSC01531

DSC01535

I really really like this picture.

DSC01541

DSC01547

DSC01546

I kind of wish I’d taken a picture of the palm trees with Christmas lights I passed on the way back… which just looked really strange to me. For so long, I only ever saw palm trees while travelling in the summer, so my brain was all, “no, no, this can’t be, palm trees belong in summer, and Christmas lights belong in winter, they can’t be together!”

Leave a Reply

