Skip to content

[Belated] Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – January 2015

January 16, 2015

After almost five years, I finally missed not one, but two GBBDs in a row. The November one because I was out of the country, and the December because I simply forgot.

(And then I promised myself I’d get back to blogging more often, and catch up on book reviews and write about how my plants are doing, but then I had an exam to study for and classes to go to and simply didn’t have time or brain cells again. Because I’ve finally started working on becoming a master horticulturist, which means spending several weeks this winter in school instead of hibernating. It’s exhausting and sometimes frustrating, but it also feels good to be learning again instead of just drifting through my days, and to spend time with other people who are also passionate about this profession.)

Anyway. I’m back now. And things are blooming, even though it should be the middle of winter – we had some snow for a bit, but now it’s all gone again, and there are bright and colourful violas on the balcony:

gbbdDSC02519

gbbdDSC02520

gbbdDSC02517

gbbdDSC02518

The rosemary not only survived the cold spell after Christmas, but it’s blooming as well:

gbbdDSC02525

In the living room, there is the amaryllis that my boss gave me as a Christmas present:

gbbdDSC02432

In the kitchen, I found a flower on my cuttings of Oxalis spiralis subsp. vulcanicola:

gbbdDSC02528

But most of my flowers are in the bedroom, which means I never see them any more – I usually get up when it’s still dark, and get home from school when it’s dark again, and I try not to turn on the light in the bedroom, because that’s where I keep my short-day plants. I only got a chance to take pictures today because school ends early on Fridays, so I got home while it was still light out.

The Abutilons, of course, don’t care about day length one way or another, but they’re in the bedroom anyway, because that’s where I have space for them.

gbbdDSC02532

gbbdDSC02533

And neither does the Chlorophytum:

gbbdDSC02513

But the Schlumbergeras care. The pink one isn’t quite there yet – I missed the first time it bloomed, because that was while I was travelling, but luckily they usually bloom a second time every winter. And like every year, I didn’t make it to my grandparents’ place early enough to see my grandma’s huge plant (of which this one was a cutting) while it was still blooming – it must be amazing!

gbbdDSC02539

But the most exciting flower (for me) is the last one – well, it’s also not quite there yet, not quite a flower, but it’s very close. My Schlumbergera x buckleyi, which is quite hard to get to bloom. It’s not quite in time for Christmas, despite being called a Christmas cactus, but I think it didn’t bloom at all last winter, so I’m very happy!

gbbdDSC02541

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2015 05:27

    Pretty little Violas!
    Love the Amaryllis, too!
    Happy Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day!
    Lea

Leave a Reply

