Skip to content

Snow and Spots of Colour

February 6, 2015

If any of my readers are sick of snow already, I apologise. We haven’t had nearly enough of it here. But I’m only posting the pictures that have a bit of colour in them.

A few days after Christmas:

ssc-dsc02344

Some kind of Cotoneaster – I’m not familiar enough with them to know which species it is.

ssc-dsc02354

Frozen rapeseed (Brassica napus) field

There wasn’t much of colour to be found in the little forest behind that field, so my next walk took me to the park:

ssc-dsc02394

Well, okay, there’s not much colour in this. But I like the shape of the seed pods of the European spindle (Euonymus europaeus)

ssc-dsc02404

The Kerrias (Kerria japonica) had started to bloom since it had been so warm for so long.

ssc-dsc02415

Some kind of dogwood (Cornus)

ssc-dsc02418

Probably guelder-rose (Viburnum opulus)

ssc-dsc02419

And again.

ssc-dsc02375

And again.

ssc-dsc02381

The forsythias were also tricked into blooming.

ssc-dsc02431

Chenault coralberry (Symphoricarpos x chenaultii)

ssc-dsc02429

A great tit… yeah, that bird has a somewhat unfortunate name. And was also hard to get a picture of, since it would not stay still.

One picture from a walk on New Year’s Day:

ssc-dsc02439

Winter heath (Erica carnea)

And from my walk up by the castle:

Winter honeysuckle (Lonicera fragrantissima)

Winter honeysuckle (Lonicera fragrantissima)

I also passed some Viburnum x bodnantense a couple of times (also winter-blooming and scented, like the honeysuckle), but I never had my camera with me.

And a few from the botanical garden last week:

ssc-DSC02783

Primrose (Primula vulgaris)

ssc-DSC02781

Witch hazel (Hamamelis)

ssc-DSC02816

Snowdrop (Galanthus nivalis)

ssc-DSC02784

A hellebore, probably holly-leaved hellebore (lHelleborus argutifolius)

ssc-DSC02788

Snowdrops again

ssc-DSC02796

Another witch hazel

ssc-DSC02799

And another one

ssc-DSC02801

I have no idea what this is, but it’s blooming.

ssc-DSC02803

Ornamental kale (Brassica oleracea Acephala group)

Winter aconite (Eranthis hyemalis)

Winter aconite (Eranthis hyemalis)

ssc-DSC02813

Some lovely moss on a tree, and I’m not going to research what kind of moss this is! I have no idea where to even start. I might know a lot about a lot of plants, but I know very little about moss.

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Allen N Wollscheidt permalink
    February 6, 2015 23:36

    Sixty-five years ago in St Louis, MO, we had snow on May 5, making everything look like your photos. It was gone by sunset.

    • February 7, 2015 06:33

      That’s quite some time ago – and quite late for snow (at least by my standards… I don’t actually know what the climate is like there.)

Leave a Reply

