Skip to content

Harvest Monday – March 16, 2015

March 16, 2015

Time to get back into the habit!

It’s not much yet, but we had the first bowl of balcony-grown salad (red babyleaf lettuce and arugula) at lunch yesterday.

hmDSC03074

And since this would be a very short post, let me also show you the things I’ve harvested since my last Harvest Monday post in late October last year. From the context of these pictures, these were all last minute before-I-leave-for-America harvests. I think I had planned to make a last Harvest Monday post, but ran out of time.

hmDSC00160

A tiny bit of kale and broccoli from the community garden.

hmDSC00162

A rather big red beet, also from the community garden. In fact, there were several messy buckets of root vegetables that I stored in the empty pots on the balcony and ate over the winter. I still have a few parsnips and beets left.

hmDSC00173

hmDSC00181

hmDSC00158

And a box of sweet potatoes from my window boxes. A much better harvest than I’ve ever had before. But I never weighed it, so I don’t know how much it actually was.

And a few things that I either harvested during the winter or ate from my stores:

hmDSC02915

hmDSC02509

hmDSC02561

hmDSC02873

Daphne, thank you for always hosting Harvest Monday!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. daphnegould permalink
    March 17, 2015 12:30

    Whoohoo for the first bowl of salad picked. I’m still waiting on mine. Mine be will container grown too this year.

    • March 23, 2015 19:32

      I must admit it has been a shamefully long time since I’ve really looked at your blog, so I have no idea if you’ve mentioned a reason for that.

Leave a Reply

