Skip to content

Time Is Just Flying By

April 1, 2015

It seems like only yesterday that work looked like this:

tfbDSC02927

Lots of brightly-coloured primroses and pansies in some of the greenhouses, not much yet in the outdoor areas, and the fields and hills across the road bare and brown…

tfbDSC02936

Tables full of plug plants in another greenhouse…

tfbDSC02931

… and the other tables mostly empty…

tfbDSC02933

… and me at the potting machine all day to fill them up.

tfbDSC02926

(Speaking of potting machines, a funny moment from my classes this winter. Or rather, from on the way to school. I always rode the train with two classmates, and one morning, we were talking about our jobs, about the plant nurseries we work at, and I mentioned the potting machine. And this guy looks at me and says, “You have a potting machine?” in this heartbroken, deeply envious voice. I thought he was going to cry, he wanted one so badly.)

Yes, it all seems like it was only yesterday, but in fact it was about six weeks ago, and a lot has changed since then.

I don’t actually have any up-to-date pictures, so you’ll just have to believe me that the outdoor area is now completely filled (or rather, starting to empty again), all the pansies and primroses are gone from the greenhouses, and that mostly-empty greenhouse from the fourth picture has not only been filled, but filled and emptied and filled again, as plants move from that one (our warmest greenhouse) to a different one as soon as they are big enough.

And I’m mostly not at the potting machine any more, because every time I walk back there to get some work done, another car pulls up and I have to go back to the front to help another customer.

And so much else is happening all the time, so much I should be blogging about, but as I said… time just flies by.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

