Skip to content

I Have a Problem

April 10, 2015

… and that problem is compulsive plant-buying. Seriously. The downside to feeling more motivated and energetic lately is that I use that motivation and energy to go to all the flower shops and garden centres around here… And things like this happen:

sDSC03231

25 new plants in about two weeks, and that’s not even counting the seeds and bulbs. And then because that wasn’t enough yet, three more.

sDSC03338

And that’s not even counting all the vegetables and flowers for the balcony. I need those, and they’ll only be around for a few months at most. These 28 are plants that I hope will be permanent additions to my jungle, and I don’t really need more houseplants.

Although I did kind of need these twlo Calatheas, because I was replanting the big mixed pot in the living room, and they were just what was missing. And I absolutely needed a Saxifraga stolonifera in a magnetic pot, because… because I just needed it, all right?

I actually remembered to write a list of all the new plants, although I’m not quite sure what some of them are – many of them were mini plants (in 5 cm pots), because the flower shop down the street was selling them at 99 cents, which is an excellent price, so I just grabbed anything that was vaguely interesting, and tiny baby palms are kind of hard to tell apart. I find palms difficult at the best of times, but at this size? Impossible.

Calathea ‘White Star’

Chamaedorea elegans (maybe?)

Chrysalidocarpus lutescens (maybe?)

Cissus rhombifolia

Dracaena marginata ‘Bicolor’

Dracaena marginata ‘Magenta’

Dracaena marginata ‘Tricolor’

Dracaena sanderiana (white variegation)

Dracaena sanderiana (yellow variegation)

Ficus ‘Anouk’

Ficus benghalensis (?)

Ficus benjamina (yellow variegation)

Ficus binnendijkii ‘Amstel Gold’

Ficus elastica

Maranta leuconeura (variety?)

Maranta leuconeura ‘Fascinator’

Oxalis articulata (pink)

Oxalis articulata (white)

Pilea ‘Moon Valley’

Pilea ‘Norfolk’

Pilea ‘Silver’

Pilea ‘Silver Tree’

Rhodohypoxis

Saxifraga stolonifera

Schefflera arboricola

Schefflera arboricola (variegated)

Schefflera elegantissima

Schefflera elegantissima (variegated)

Many of these tiny plants now have to share pots, because it’s so much easier to water one big pot than two or three tiny ones. And I kind of like the idea of a pot with three different varieties of Dracaena marginata. I think this will look very nice.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2015 00:29

    Awww…but they’re such cute plants! There are worse habits! This is a good one πŸ™‚

    • April 11, 2015 11:36

      Yeah, there are certainly worse ones… but this one is a lot of work!

  2. April 11, 2015 02:16

    I restrict myself to one new plant a month. That does not count the ones I am constantly propagating. You have no idea what it’s like living next door to a nursery/greenhouse!!! πŸ˜€

    • April 11, 2015 11:39

      I don’t? I only work in one! πŸ˜€
      And then there’s a flower shop a five minute walk from my home, and several more plant-selling places of various kinds within easy cycling distance…

      • April 11, 2015 20:49

        That must be a great job!!! The nursery next to me is historic, and they do weddings there too, inside and out, which I can see from my place. I just love it. They also keep goats and chickens, which are adorable.

        http://www.goldnerwalsh.com/

        • April 11, 2015 21:34

          That sounds like a lovely place.

          “My” Teeny Tiny Village Nursery isn’t that interesting, but it’s still a great place to work, with the best colleagues I could wish for. There are some pictures here and here, if you want to look.

Leave a Reply

