Skip to content

(Belated) Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – April 2015

April 16, 2015

This time I didn’t forget. I even took pictures in time. But then I stayed out until 8 every day, working in the community garden (8 is when it gets dark, otherwise I would have stayed even longer) and was simply too tired and short on time to write a post.

I have some Abutilons and Schlumbergeras blooming inside, but was in too much of a hurry to get good pictures of them (they’re all in the bedroom, in a messy tangle, which makes it hard to take pictures), so you only get pictures of the balcony. But that’s currently much pretttier than the indoors anyway, with lots and lots of violas and a bit of other stuff, too. Just pictures and no more words, because I’m tired.

gbbdDSC03582

gbbdDSC03579

gbbdDSC03581

1gbbdDSC03587

1gbbdDSC03586

4gbbdDSC03632

4gbbdDSC03601

4gbbdDSC03631

2gbbdDSC03589

2gbbdDSC03590

Almost blooming…

3gbbdDSC03598

3gbbdDSC03596

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2015 23:54

    Wow, what a gorgeous balcony!

  2. bushbernie permalink
    April 17, 2015 00:14

    Such a riot of colour. Love all your gorgeous Pansies.

  3. April 19, 2015 00:52

    Hey, um, quick German Schlumbergera-naming question: what would be the most obvious/logical/straightforward interpretation of “schadengeist?” (And, if any leap to mind, what would be the less obvious but still allowed meanings?)

    • April 24, 2015 06:01

      Not-so-quick answer (sorry, always too busy-busy-busy):
      The literal translation is “damage ghost”, though it’s not a word that actually exists, and it sounds a little awkward to me.
      The image it brings to mind is something like a poltergeist, a spirit that causes damages… or maybe a ghost that is created when something is damaged.
      Or it could be the word “Geistesschaden” (“mind damage”, but more with an implication of “craziness” than physical brain damage, if that makes sense) flipped around.

      • April 24, 2015 06:21

        Thanks. I know this is a busy time of year for you, so I appreciate the effort.

        (Not going to be using it for the Schlumbergera seedling, by the way. I’d pretty much decided against it before you answered, but your answer wasn’t anywhere close to the intended meaning, so if it had still been under consideration I would have had to discard it anyway.)

        • April 25, 2015 19:06

          Now I wonder what the intended meaning was…

          • April 26, 2015 05:06

            Roughly: someone who looks a great deal like someone with whom you have unfinished emotional business that will almost certainly never be finished, but is not actually that person, has no relationship to them whatsoever, and nevertheless manages to bring back all the original emotions at something approximating their original intensity.

            I’d asked a question elsewhere, inviting people to propose words for that, and “schadengeist” was one of the proposed words.

            • April 26, 2015 21:37

              I never thought about it, but there should absolutely be a word for that! I can see how both “Schaden” and “Geist” have a connection to it, but they don’t really work together for that meaning…
              Now I’ll spend the next couple of days thinking about this and trying to find a word that works…

  4. April 27, 2015 16:59

    (starting new thread for sake of readability)

    Well, if you come up with something, sure, let me know, but the seedling that prompted the question has been named already so it’s unlikely to have any immediate application. The thread where I asked for suggestions is here, should you want to look at it.

    • April 27, 2015 19:47

      (Oh yikes, that has become pretty hard to read!)

      I know you don’t need it for naming Schlumbergeras any more, I just feel like it’s a word that needs to exist. Because it would be so much easier to say “this person is a [whatever the word would be]” than having to explain, “that person looks like so-and-so and it reminded me of all the feelings I had about so-and-so” (and it’s so weird how intense those feelings can be…)

      I mean, it would never become a well-known word, but I do have some friends who would probably adopt it too. We use a lot of weird words. (I mean, we even have a language called Jellybeanese…)

Leave a Reply

